PDA

View Full Version : My New Arcade Machine, Please Help



ryskie
15th August 2006, 08:58 PM
Hi Guys, I am very new to this scene and have been mucking around at home with mame on my computer. I have always wanted to start a Mame machine project. I am very keen to learn more as I wanna start my build. I have found this site to be filled with people in the know and I was hopeing you could help me out.
What I wanna know is how do u tell if it is a Jamma Machine? Also it doesnt seem to have a power cord ( my mate said he thought it was a asian cord that doesnt fit into our sockets and he thinks the guy took it off).I want to make it so it has 6 buttons either side for Streetfighter 2. Can anyone help me out where to start. I had a look at Elvis's cabinet and really wanna do the same setup . Also Im in Brisbane so if anyone can help me with the conversion it would be muchly appreciated, Come round and have a few beers!!!!!

here are a few pics of it
1502
1503

Thanks heaps Ryskie

WOKA
15th August 2006, 09:12 PM
Hi Ryskie - I'm sure you'll get some help and good advise around here and welcome to the forum..!

I think with your offer of beers you should get some sort of response..! Where abouts in Brisbane are you, North, South, East, West..?


W.

ryskie
15th August 2006, 09:14 PM
Thanks, Southside of Brisbane Near Calamvale

WOKA
15th August 2006, 09:18 PM
Just up the street from me..! I'm no expert but I'll run my peepers over the cab for you if you like and tell what I can. This way you'll have more ammo for a better fault description.


W.

ryskie
15th August 2006, 09:37 PM
That would be awsome, The suburb im in is Parkinson, Not many people know where it is so I tell people near Calamvale :)
Just Pm me when ya free.
Ryskie

ryskie
29th May 2008, 05:16 PM
Sorry to bring an old thread up but it has pics of my machine, My machine has sat collecting dust, so Im looking to gert rid of it but am unsure what its worth? anyone have a idea?

spacies
29th May 2008, 05:26 PM
Some beers? LOL.

meme
29th May 2008, 06:27 PM
Sorry to bring an old thread up but it has pics of my machine, My machine has sat collecting dust, so Im looking to gert rid of it but am unsure what its worth? anyone have a idea?

Might be interested?

RA40Peter
29th May 2008, 06:53 PM
Can you give us any more details on it?

opm881
29th May 2008, 08:24 PM
hey, location man? if its brissy/gold coast area ill take it off ya hands. AND WOOOOOOO SOMEONE ELSE FROM CAIRNS IS ON HERE! IM NOT THE ONLY ONE!!!!! even though im on the coast for a year and a bit + possibly more still >>

gints
29th May 2008, 09:47 PM
Hey OPM881 wherebouts on Coast are you? I flit between my place in bris and folks in coast. Don't see too many coasters around.

opm881
29th May 2008, 09:51 PM
im at elanora, just off avacardo street

WOKA
30th May 2008, 08:41 AM
Rather that asking what its worth, put it out there how much you want for it. This way it will probably sell alot more quickly.. Also, I'm only 5 minutes away chucking a sickie ;)

opm881
30th May 2008, 08:45 AM
he has pm'd me asking how much i am willing to pay, woka have you seen it before? Cause i replied asking what sort of stuff was in it like in the way of coin mech, monitor + chassie, power supply, and stuff like that and also asking those parts work

WOKA
30th May 2008, 08:53 AM
Nah.. I haven't seen it. If you negotiate a price with him I 'll go check it out for you, as best I can.

opm881
30th May 2008, 09:55 AM
knowing what was in it and what was working is what was going to help me figure out a price XD Ill just have to wait till he replies

ryskie
30th May 2008, 01:54 PM
Hey guys I havent got a clue if the monitor or anything works. It has a different power supply and I dont even know how to turn it on. Im also unsure if there is a game in there as I have no idea when it comes to this machine. I was going to turn it into a mame machine but have never gotten around to it,
Ryan

opm881
30th May 2008, 03:43 PM
can you give a height width and depth measurment? just as if it were a box?

ryskie
30th May 2008, 03:56 PM
1.4 high, .64 wide, depth from control .75 , hope this helps

spacies
30th May 2008, 04:16 PM
1.4 high?

opm881
30th May 2008, 04:23 PM
i think you have to sit down to play it spacies. What is that stuff that is used as a coating over it? reckon its possible to remove?

ryskie
30th May 2008, 04:54 PM
its like a laminate style cover. easy to remove. on one side its has peeled off a bit

opm881
30th May 2008, 05:43 PM
awesome, what kind of wood is underneath?

WOKA
30th May 2008, 05:48 PM
Particle board with lots of glue that would be a real bugger to scrape off..!

opm881
30th May 2008, 05:51 PM
serious? did you go have a look 2day woka? cause i know the bench tops in my parents house has a laminex sorta thing over it and its solid under the laminex

WOKA
30th May 2008, 06:22 PM
Cabs are generally made of either ply wood or particle board. The laminate (or veneer) is generally stuck on with some sort of serious glue. Would be a real bitch to get off I reckon, then you would need to re-dress it with something so as to make it look presentable again..

Leave it as it is I reckon.

opm881
30th May 2008, 06:23 PM
kk, i will just have to re-make the cp cause i want to change it to a 6 button per player instead of the 3 it has there, so i will probably just use some black vinyl for that, just hope the red buttons and joysticks will suit it XD

opm881
30th May 2008, 07:25 PM
probably a long shot but does anyone happen to be driving from brisbane to the gold coast this weekend and has lots of room in their car XD

narf_
31st May 2008, 02:37 AM
shouldnt this now be in the trade section as it has nothing to with tech repairs

if it has side wear there is a easy solution

cab either side fixes that ;)

opm881
31st May 2008, 07:12 AM
xD Im buying it any way so doesnt really need to move

meme
31st May 2008, 07:59 AM
xD Im buying it any way so doesnt really need to move



So it IS sold then???

Goodo!

opm881
31st May 2008, 09:31 AM
yea, im just waiting for him to come on and tell me his address. Im gonna head up asap

meme
31st May 2008, 09:39 AM
So you have already paid?....Well done!..
$100 well spent!

Have Fun

opm881
31st May 2008, 09:41 AM
lol its more hten $100, $160 to be precise, but thats fine, its got alot of stuff inside i dont need so i might end up getting rid of them on ebay or here

WOKA
31st May 2008, 09:43 AM
Thats a good price IMO, I would have offered $150.00 sight unseen such as you.

opm881
31st May 2008, 09:47 AM
yea, i thought it was fair, just need him to get online and pm me the address -_-

opm881
1st June 2008, 10:03 PM
Ive picked it up. Ill get some pics up 2moro and start a new thread. It needs a little work but not much. Gotta make a new control panel, gotta amke a new monitor mount as my pc monitor hasnt got wide enough mounting parts to fit where the old one was, and i need to replace both sides as one has half the laminex coating gone, but its just ply wood so ill get some from bunnings and maybe use some adheasive vinyl or sumfin to make it look good.