PDA

View Full Version : Wiring Tip



dungbeetle46
15th April 2009, 10:15 PM
was looking for wire to wire up my cocktail cab and wanted to keep it nice and neat, I had a heap of old wire lying around, mostly the same color etc
then I found I had a heap of old parallell printer cables, after cutting of the end I had around 36 wires all different colors in a nice neat harness.
So if you havent thought of it, use a printer cable, you can pick these up almost anywhere for next to nothing.
1 5ft cable wired my whole cocktail cab both sides.

WOKA
15th April 2009, 10:59 PM
Yep.. Good idea.

I've used CAT5 cable in the past.

danny_galaga
16th April 2009, 09:34 PM
nice tip. always good to make use of stuff that would otherwise be landfill (",)

i bought cat5 and now i think about it, at the time i would have had at least a couple of old printer cables sitting around...

Prof
23rd April 2009, 03:37 PM
been doing that for a fair few years. Thought it would have been a common practice?

Arcade King
23rd April 2009, 05:54 PM
good post thanks for sharing your tip :)

Hoopstar
8th May 2009, 10:28 AM
Another good source of cable with higher current handling capabilities is rolls of trailer wire..

It comes in either 5 and 7 multi-colored cores and wrapped in a black protective sheath which can be easily removed, relatively cheap and available at places like Repco, Super Cheap etc. This stuff is great for wiring up control panels etc..

http://www.haigh.com.au/images/ProductImages/FC1006.jpg


Hoops

mrsnipey
13th November 2009, 12:38 PM
You can try cat 5 (ethernet) cable too.


(If only I'd read the earlier post suggesting exactly the same thing)

Sorry.

WOKA
13th November 2009, 12:47 PM
All good Mrs Nipey, all good :)

bwodie
13th November 2009, 01:30 PM
All good Mrs Nipey, all good :)

i think thats mr snipey :lol

Dutchy
17th November 2009, 11:49 AM
Mrs Nipey ........ :lol very clever....just tickled my fancy, that :redface:unsure

bobbavet
14th August 2010, 04:21 PM
I've recently started back on my Mame cab. This gives me and idea for old IDE cables. AT LAST! I new I kept dozens for a reason. :D

Hewitson
14th August 2010, 05:58 PM
Not a great idea if you ask me. You couldn't find lower quality wire if you tried.

Decent wire isn't exactly expensive.

immortal001
18th August 2010, 04:41 PM
thanks for the tip. I know it's been up a while but a new control panel is underway and this just made my wiring job heaps easier.
Remebered where i saw it so thought you deserved a thanks.

biggeorge
22nd October 2011, 04:15 AM
+1 vote for the 7 core trailer wire.

It is just nice and fat for installing your spade plugs onto easily.
Wire your machine up as 1 loom per stick and one per button set.

rativiv
22nd May 2016, 01:03 PM
After reading this thread, I have just used this, very handy!

Thanks

jollster101
16th October 2016, 06:03 AM
That is genius. I will be looking at this in my upcoming cab build.

Great tip. Cheers