PDA

View Full Version : Cocktail Renovation

jstr
12th April 2009, 12:05 PM
Hey,

This is my first arcade restoration project. I figure I will learn a lot as I progress. I got rather low grades in all the workshop units at school, and that was 15 years ago, so I know I am going to suck every time I have to do something practical. I did however do well at tech drawing and I work as a software developer for a CAD company, so I should be good at the design side of things. I will have to measure 8 times, and cut once, very, very slowly.

I bought the cabinet on ebay. I think it is a taito, however the control panels have been removed, and new ones added that protrude from the side of the box. They are pretty ugly and a small chunk of the cabinet was removed to insert them.

These are the general problems with the machine that need to be fixed:

1. Legs are very rusty
2. Glass is very scratched, and painted black on one side ( I want to replace it with a smoked clear pane of glass)
3. Top wood pane is in pretty bad condition.
4. Control panels are ugly, and need to be replaced.
5. Case is non JAMMA
6. Power supply is return 10.5V instead of 12 and 5.3V instead of 5. (its very old and menacing)

The cabinet came with a game, Repulse, 1985 Sega. It was quite enjoyable, but I killed it with static 2 days ago. I feel like I have committed a crime against the preservation of antique gaming, but I don't think there was much I could do, I was very careful with it and kept it in its bubble wrap.

These are the photos of my work so far:

http://picasaweb.google.com/jesse.chilcott/CocktailRestoration?feat=directlink

I've derusted the legs with pretty amazing results. I've cut a new top pane, but the inner left edge is a bit wonky, so i will try to sand it down a bit with a Dremel tonight.

I also painted the black bar on the bottom of the cabinet with a can of dulux I got from Bunnings. It turned out pretty good, so I will paint the entire metal undercarriage like that soon.