PDA

View Full Version : battery removal



sniperalert
29th March 2009, 08:13 PM
took of the back glass to remove aa battery but behold this machine dont have one.can someone show me what to remove and the best way to do it. from my 1984 black pyramid machine.i think i know which one it is but best leave it to the experts. dont want to **** up to early.


http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j106/sniperalert/P3290176.jpg

dj10555
29th March 2009, 08:28 PM
Hi Sniperalert,
The battery is the blue cylinder on the bottom of the top left board.
This needs to be removed at replaced with either an external battery pack (with diode) or supercap.

I generally install a supercap on the Bally MPU boards I repair.
There is some more information on http://www.pinrepair.com/bally/index1.htm#battery

Regards Derek

Ballypinball
29th March 2009, 08:36 PM
took of the back glass to remove aa battery but behold this machine dont have one.can someone show me what to remove and the best way to do it. from my 1984 black pyramid machine.i think i know which one it is but best leave it to the experts. dont want to **** up to early.


http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j106/sniperalert/P3290176.jpg

just remember it wont remember credits or any replay scores without a battery

sniperalert
29th March 2009, 08:45 PM
if it looks in alright nick should i actually change it?

AskJacob
29th March 2009, 08:48 PM
By the Gods YES

It is a cancerous time bomb waiting to destroy your MPU board.

A bit dramatic I guess, but it is gonna be bad. 20 year old nicad? even if it has been replaced, get it off the PCB at a bare minimum...

Cheers
Jacob

sniperalert
29th March 2009, 08:55 PM
By the Gods YES

It is a cancerous time bomb waiting to destroy your MPU board.

A bit dramatic I guess, but it is gonna be bad. 20 year old nicad? even if it has been replaced, get it off the PCB at a bare minimum...

Cheers
Jacob

its coming off tomorrow then.thanks

Ballypinball
29th March 2009, 09:09 PM
buy a 3 aa battery holder and put a diode on the + side so it doesnt charge
and mount remotely

Arcade King
29th March 2009, 09:17 PM
+1 on the supercap

sniperalert
29th March 2009, 09:22 PM
ok so do i go super cap or 3aa battery holder? or which one will i be touching less often when i do this?(sorry if these are noob questions)

dj10555
29th March 2009, 09:29 PM
If you install the supercap, you don't have to worry about changing anything it the future. You just need to have the game on a few hours each month to charge, otherwise the high scores and credits will be lost. If you go the remote battery option and mount the case safely, you would only need to change the batteries once a year. Either way it is important to remove the original.

Ballypinball
29th March 2009, 09:32 PM
what about a computer type battery holder and 23mm flat battery, still with a diode, they dont seem to leak

AskJacob
29th March 2009, 10:37 PM
what about a computer type battery holder and 23mm flat battery, still with a diode, they dont seem to leak

They are less likely to leak, but I have managed to have some that have.

Supercap is my recommendation for something that is going to be played at least once a month. No maintenance required on the supercap, nor do you need to figure out the diode etc. Just remember that the 1st time fired up it will need about an hour or 2 to get a decent charge.

http://www.audiovisualdevices.com.au/viewprod.php?catid=&productid=R4996

is one kind you could use.

Cheers
Jacob

Ballypinball
29th March 2009, 11:13 PM
never seen these before

what are they used for?

AskJacob
29th March 2009, 11:59 PM
never seen these before

what are they used for?

Heh, they are used in some newer circuit designs for maintaining cmos sram settings - just like what we want here on the MPU. They weren't really mainstream and available to us common folk until maybe 7 years ago. That and the usual CR2032 battery is cheaper is why they are not real common on mass produced items, especially stuff designed to last only 3 years (the avg. life of a lithium non rechargable battery)

I also used some instead of batteries on a 2 stage rocket a few years ago for the payload electronics, as batteries were too heavy.

Cheers
Jacob

Skybeaux
30th March 2009, 07:34 AM
what about a computer type battery holder and 23mm flat battery, still with a diode, they dont seem to leak

I've been installing these on all types of pinball boards for a few years now with no problems.
I just tell people to change them in 5 years time and it's a simple job for them to do that.

http://i477.photobucket.com/albums/rr138/skybeaux/00006.jpg

http://i477.photobucket.com/albums/rr138/skybeaux/00007.jpg

http://i477.photobucket.com/albums/rr138/skybeaux/00004.jpg

Ballypinball
30th March 2009, 12:39 PM
Thats what I was refering to

we use the battery type on the pinball 2000 daughter board

David_AVD
30th March 2009, 02:40 PM
If you want to keep it original, we sell these batteries (http://www.audiovisualdevices.com.au/viewprod.php?catid=&productid=NSB3). I fitted one to my Bally.

stuba
30th March 2009, 04:13 PM
I've been installing these on all types of pinball boards for a few years now with no problems.
I just tell people to change them in 5 years time and it's a simple job for them to do that.



you got my vote ken - that looks really tidy. :)

Skybeaux
30th March 2009, 05:25 PM
you got my vote ken - that looks really tidy. :)

Great to see you back on here Stu :D

Does the Bally Mpu look a bit familiar;)

gottman
30th March 2009, 05:30 PM
Nice work there Ken... :cool:

MrMaloo
30th March 2009, 05:40 PM
+1 .

Ken's battery mods are VERY neat and tidy . Top stuff .... :023:

AskJacob
31st March 2009, 08:11 AM
Hey Ken,
They are neat, but I expected nothing less of course :) :cool:

Where do you hide the diode? is it on the back of the board?

Cheers
Jacob

Skybeaux
31st March 2009, 05:03 PM
Hey Ken,
They are neat, but I expected nothing less of course :) :cool:

Where do you hide the diode? is it on the back of the board?

Cheers
Jacob

Thanks Jacob :)

You can see the diode on the rear of the board at the bottom...last picture

ANT68
31st March 2009, 09:36 PM
A professional taking pride in his work ,well done .:p

Bally
1st April 2009, 01:24 AM
I've been installing these on all types of pinball boards for a few years now with no problems.
I just tell people to change them in 5 years time and it's a simple job for them to do that.

http://i477.photobucket.com/albums/rr138/skybeaux/00006.jpg

http://i477.photobucket.com/albums/rr138/skybeaux/00007.jpg

http://i477.photobucket.com/albums/rr138/skybeaux/00004.jpg

How will the WPC cpu board keep the settings when you use an 3V batteri ?

As the cpu board must keep at least +4volt.

Skybeaux
1st April 2009, 07:14 AM
How will the WPC cpu board keep the settings when you use an 3V batteri ?

As the cpu board must keep at least +4volt.

Like i said i've been doing this now for a few years with NO Problems holding the settings!

Bally
1st April 2009, 08:28 AM
Ok

where do you connect it ?

Skybeaux
2nd April 2009, 07:49 AM
Ok

where do you connect it ?

http://i477.photobucket.com/albums/rr138/skybeaux/00004-1.jpg

You only need to add 1 wire to connect up the negative terminal.

Also , the 6264 ram on the WPC Cpu board only requires a minimum of +2 volts to retain data.....so the 3 volt lithium is adequate.
When new , i've found most lithium's measure between 3.2 and 3.4 volts.