PDA

View Full Version : Normalization : can this do the impossible?

Black Tiger
18th January 2009, 09:34 AM
I've just been tipped of about this program:
http://mp3gain.sourceforge.net/download.php

I have been after something like this for ages because it claims to normalize all of your MP3 files without first decoding them, adjusting the volume, then recode them back to MP3 which all the other programs seem to do (which compresses and degrades the quality even more ) this one doesn't?!

I am still a little skeptical of this program, is there anyone here who has tried it and it actually works? I can't see how it can without preforming the actions I mentioned above. But it says it doesn't?!
Being a musician, I'm a little fussy when it comes to sound, I would hate to run this program over all my MP3s, only to have them degraded and undo all the work I did ripping them into high quality.

Brad
18th January 2009, 09:40 AM
We've all been using this for years. Does the trick no problem without any sort of decoding.

Brad

David_AVD
18th January 2009, 10:42 AM
... mp3gain ...

I am still a little skeptical of this program, is there anyone here who has tried it and it actually works? I can't see how it can without preforming the actions I mentioned above. But it says it doesn't?!

I've wondered the same thing. Maybe it doesn't alter the content as such but modifies a "level" tag in there to instruct the decoding / playing process to apply gain / reduction? I have no idea if mp3 streams even support this.

rod71
18th January 2009, 11:12 AM
Yeah, the program will analyse the file (which takes the most time in the process) and then adjust the gain either up or down. Default is 89db, but you can overide that.

David_AVD
18th January 2009, 01:35 PM
Yes, but how does it adjust the volume?

Maybe there's a simple way to alter the level of an mp3 stream without decoding and re-encoding. I don't know enough about the intricate workings of an mp3 stream to know.