PDA

View Full Version : Building a supergun setup... maybe?



dmworking247
15th January 2009, 06:23 PM
I change my project plans more often than I shower these days (which isn't as bad as it sounds, it just means my plans change multiple times daily :lol )

I'm currently considering building a supergun unit (ie, a box that I plug a jamma board into, and then the box into my TV).

This is because I've spontaneously decided to build a retro console collection with a 68cm TV in a dedicated entertainment unit... so I figure what the hell, I might as well build a control panel (with fold up legs like on a sawhorse) that plugs into A) A mame computer, and B) A supergun, housed inside the bottom of entertainment unit.

http://i1.ebayimg.com/05/i/001/27/ea/5d04_2.JPG

To do this, I'm going to use:
A Jamma harness hooked up to RGB-2-SVIDEO converter bought from in2amusements (http://in2amusements.com.au/shop/index.php/21/129_RGB_To_S-Video_Converter).

.. and a seperate PC for the MAME side, obviously with an S-video output too.

I may use the control panels I've been building for The Dolphin cabinet (http://www.aussiearcade.com/showthread.php?t=19472) (1x with two 6-button controls, a 3" arcade trackball and a spinner, the other with 2x champ sprint wheels). This would probably mean that I'd put the Dolphin cabinet back on the market as a working cabinet minus any game boards or joysticks/buttons. I'm not sure yet...

Once again this possible project brings up a common annoyance with me: I'm constantly in need of a better way to connect a fully populated control panel (which means 24-30 wires) with an single plug. This time I might go for a parallel cable (25 pins) with a printer switchbox (assuming the one I have laying around switches all 25 pins). I wish there was something like a tripple length RJ45 cable or something though.

What else do I need? Do I need one of those black arcade power supplies, or will a PC power supply do the trick? I'm leaning towards the arcade power supply for simplicity of an on/off switch. When is the -12v from an arcade power supply used?

I could possibly build this standalone control panel big enough to enclose the converter, power supply and PCB so that I just need the S-video output, but I think I'd prefer to have the control panel be 'dumb' and somehow (must be SUPER EASY so the kids can do it) plug it into the PC, or the "SuperGun" as required. This is also because the PCBs vary so much in size. I'd rather just have it sit loose on the top of the 'supergun box' inside the cabinet for easy changeover.

Has anyone built a supergun setup? Any thoughts or experiences?

narf_
15th January 2009, 08:00 PM
i was slack and bought mine

there about $30-$40 premade with 12months warranty

cant beat that end of the day

dmworking247
15th January 2009, 08:23 PM
Wait, what??

What am I missing, how did you get a premade supergun for $30? The power supply alone should be that, a wiring harness $10-15, but most of all the RGB to Svideo converter is around US$40?

GameOn
15th January 2009, 08:32 PM
Don't you aussies have RGB SCART sockets? I'm sure I've seen them on CRT tvs...

narf_
15th January 2009, 08:36 PM
ah sorry dale

it was just the motherboard

you must add speakers and a PS (usually lying around or free) also the guy builds these and can mod to s-video if requested instead of scart. i was going to get another as i had the older model. i did ask can i have the coin button remote so i could go in a cab and it is a option

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/NeoGeo-MVS-and-JAMMA-Arcade-supergun-motherboard-MK-III_W0QQitemZ250354253376QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Vid eo_Games_Coin_Operated_MJ?hash=item250354253376&_trksid=p3911.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2|65%3A1|39%3A1|240%3A1318

i had the more expensive one which i found not the best as it uses console controllers.

just a thought mate. ive got pics of the picture quality if you want to see

dmworking247
15th January 2009, 08:58 PM
Ah I've been turned off those because of the lack of S-video option.

If he makes one with an S-video, thats great... especially if I can get one that I can wire up my own controls.

A pic of the quality would be good, as well as your rating (out of 10) of its 'authenticity'?

narf_
15th January 2009, 09:01 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v387/optimus_narfunkle/testrig1.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v387/optimus_narfunkle/testrig2.jpg

from his other auction


The arcade supergun motherboard can only be used on a TV with a SCART socket.

International buyers can solder an NTSC RGB to S-VIDEO converter to the motherboard to have S-VIDEO.

I'll show you how to solder the converter to the arcade supergun motherboard.

dmworking247
15th January 2009, 09:04 PM
Looks pretty good to me, and would be a LOT more compact than the RGB converter + seperate harness I was going for.

I'll contact the guy and ask him about options for a direct-wire version with a SVIDEO output.

narf_
15th January 2009, 09:05 PM
frees your converter for more projects again :lol

jaspar
15th January 2009, 09:51 PM
I have build one. Enlcosed in box with wooden controllers.

if you get stuck let me know there fairly easy. Picture is great using those converters.
http://www.in2amusements.com.au/AA/131.jpg

if you are after one of those Vogtek ones let me know I have one, which i haven't used.

narf_
15th January 2009, 09:59 PM
nice work mate