PDA

View Full Version : Getting started on a sit down cabinet

TonyJZX
24th July 2006, 01:47 PM
Hello there,

My name is Tony. I am looking into this new hobby as it combines two things - PCs and an old television I have.

I am a network admin type so PCs are no problem.

I have an old 68cm TV which has a VGA input. It was used for presentations.

How would I go about mounting this TV into a sit down cabinet? I suppose since it has the VGA that makes it easy to hook up straight to a PC. I am also lost about how to interface a joystick and buttons and whatever to the PC.

Ric
24th July 2006, 02:01 PM
i think the TV and the PC will be the easy part.

You need a special graphics card to produce a 15Hz signal to your TV - the resoltuion used by standard ratser games (as you will know VGA signals have a higher frequency)

you then need a IPAC or JPAC or equivalent keyboard encoder to connect external inputs (joystick or steering wheel) to the PC to be able to play the games.

I am not all that up to date with encoders and steering wheels

start at
http://www.ozstick.com.au

or

http://www.ultimarc.com

for pricing of the equipment

Can anybody else chime in?

Ric

RetroGame
24th July 2006, 02:26 PM
As your TV has a VGA input, you will not require any special video card such as the Ultimarc Arcade VGA card, your PC will plug straight into the TV.

As for getting the joystick and button inputs to the PC, there are 2 options.

1) The keyboard hack, which is dismantling a keyboard and connecting the buttons to the keyboard matrix. - Advantages, free or about $2 for a keyboard. Disadvantages, time consuming, messy, and can have key masking and ghosting issues.

2) Use an Ipac or similar keyboard encoder. - Advantages, simple an quick to wire up and configure, no key masking or ghosting, don't need extra buttons for credit, esc, tab etc. Disadvantages, cost $70.00.

see http://arcadecontrols.com/arcade.htm & www.ozstick.com.au