PDA

View Full Version : XBOX Modding



chriscross
4th January 2009, 03:13 PM
I have a couple of xboxes handy and was looking to Mod them myself. I have done a bit of research and does anyone know what the best dashboard etc is to use (EvoX, XBMC etc). Also a good supplier for chips?

Also does anyone know about the Slayer installer program?

Guru-Choc
4th January 2009, 03:18 PM
XBMC is the bomb.

Slayers is piece of cake, once you have the chip installed, throw in the disc, press a few buttons, away you go.

Brad
4th January 2009, 03:24 PM
I softmodded one last week using NDure. Piece of piss really.

I like Avalaunch as a dash which you then have XMBC as a menu item.

Brad

sairuk
4th January 2009, 03:38 PM
softmod using NDure or Auto Installer Deluxe with a copy of Splinter Cell and Memory Unit or modified USB Key. Both work well enough.

NDures fallback to evox/unleashx (if your dash install goes tits up) is great but when using the PAL SC mod you need to copy two lots of files over to the xbox, this is a pain.

AID has alot of options. I have not tried all but, it is only one file copy when using the SC version. This is great because i can just keep that on my memcard unit now. It installs evox or unleashx. Other software is installed by an accompaning dvd. I've only used AIO for 2 xboxes so far but am happy with it.

Avalaunch is a brilliant dash when partnered up with the windows software QWIX. Wont get a faster network install/rip of games with anything else.

For a dash, XBMC or UnleashX for me. preferably XBMC, it really covers anythig the average users could possibly want to do with a xbox.
-Games
-Homebrew
-Trainers
-XLink, Inbuilt Support
-Videos
-Music
-Pictures
-eComics (reads inside zip/rar formats)
-Weather reports
-Plugins/Scripts
-Myth TV Support, Inbuilt

Probably forgotten some features here too

btw: nice avatar chriscross

DevoDave
4th January 2009, 06:38 PM
For the sake of a $20 chip, don't bother with the hassle and fragility of a softmod.

Go hard or go home!

Too easily stuffed up, and then you need a modchip anyway to get the thing running.

sairuk
4th January 2009, 06:47 PM
softmod to tsop flash is also an option on models which support it. Always forget that one, my first console (a 1.1) was done this way many years ago and has never missed a beat.

Brad
4th January 2009, 07:05 PM
For the sake of a $20 chip, don't bother with the hassle and fragility of a softmod.

Go hard or go home!

Too easily stuffed up, and then you need a modchip anyway to get the thing running.

Agreed IF your any good with a soldering iron. Since I solder like a goddamn gorilla, I steer clear of mod-ships =( Gimme a PC or software and no problem so the choice for me is obvious.

Brad

chriscross
4th January 2009, 07:51 PM
Cheers for the replies guys..

I am not too bad with a soldering iron so i will attempt to install a chip. Found a place in Sydney where they sell DUO 2 Lites which appear to be pretty good quality judging from the stuff i have read on the net.

As for the Software what is the best place to get each package? I have looked at a few sites and can not seem to find anything accessible.

I have seen a few programs on torrents but have never used them before but my main concern is bandwidth. I am only on a 3GB plan (sad i know but it is wireless!!)

Does anyone have this stuff on disc?

Cheers

CD

sairuk
4th January 2009, 10:08 PM
decent for all things console

http://www.eurasia.nu/

Mickey Juice
6th January 2009, 11:56 AM
Probably use Slayers Install disc to get XBMC running as the main dash... then update it to the latest build:
http://t3ch.yi.se/

Guru-Choc
6th January 2009, 12:26 PM
Probably use Slayers Install disc to get XBMC running as the main dash... then update it to the latest build:
http://t3ch.yi.se/

I always had trouble doing that :( Always wanted to find a Y: drive after copying over the latest tech build, never had a Y: drive ever.

Mickey Juice
6th January 2009, 01:12 PM
?
What's wanting to find a Y drive?

Guru-Choc
6th January 2009, 02:14 PM
If you install with slayer, boot the xbox and get into XBMC and shut down. Copy the new version of XBMC across to the xbox, copy the user data folder across and boot the xbox it looks for a Y; (I think thats the letter) drive and you have to do a clean install again.

sairuk
6th January 2009, 02:34 PM
If you install with slayer, boot the xbox and get into XBMC and shut down. Copy the new version of XBMC across to the xbox, copy the user data folder across and boot the xbox it looks for a Y; (I think thats the letter) drive and you have to do a clean install again.

What version of slayers? 2.7 is out and was a bugfix release, this may well have been the case with 2.6. Not sure.

chriscross
6th January 2009, 06:29 PM
Sweet guys

Anyone got a link to Slayer??

Looks like i need to visit a friend with more bandwidth..

Cheers

cwispy
7th January 2009, 02:32 AM
Just search google for the term "slayers evox 2.7" and you will find lots of torrent links still.

sairuk
7th January 2009, 09:18 AM
Although i'm yet to use it, the Auto Installer Deluxe disc include a HDD Prep section and most all of the software you will need to get you going. May nuke this 1.1 HDD i just upgraded after doing a TSOP flash a couple of days ago to test it.

http://www.aidtracker.com/

Brad
7th January 2009, 09:30 AM
You still need an Xbox USB stick though don't you?

Brad

sairuk
7th January 2009, 09:48 AM
You still need an Xbox USB stick though don't you?

Brad

you still need a modded console, whatever type of mod that may be.

The disc accompanies the softmod installer program they have going and includes a load of software ready to install plus extras, like bios files and dashes, xbmc, dvd2xbox. It is made to keep the size of the actual exploit file to a minimum.

I used the software installers on a softmodded xbox to setup XBMC as the dash and it worked perfectly fine, which I was impressed with. I will try nuking this hdd today with the lite version of the disc since its cruddy weather outside.

Mickey Juice
7th January 2009, 11:15 AM
Although i'm yet to use it, the Auto Installer Deluxe disc include a HDD Prep section and most all of the software you will need to get you going. May nuke this 1.1 HDD i just upgraded after doing a TSOP flash a couple of days ago to test it.

http://www.aidtracker.com/

I use AID for installing emulators... I customised the original .iso and updated the emulators including the roms and screenshots.

sairuk
7th January 2009, 02:20 PM
I use AID for installing emulators... I customised the original .iso and updated the emulators including the roms and screenshots.

sounds like a plan if you're doing a few of them. The way the prices are and the machines uses it may be an idea for me to do the same.

EB has them pre-owned for $50 atm (or did that sale finish?)

EDIT: nup, still going http://www.ebgames.com.au/home/product.cfm?ID=116

GameCubes for $29, could make a cheap fighter cab with cap vs snk eo.

Mickey Juice
7th January 2009, 02:28 PM
$50!
Bugger. I might have to buy a 3rd! xbox ;)

sairuk
7th January 2009, 02:36 PM
$50!
Bugger. I might have to buy a 3rd! xbox ;)

lol, i would get another one but the boss has said 4 is enough... can lan most games now :) i suppose.

Had outrun 2 going the other day, damn fun. Need some more wheels.

dmworking247
7th January 2009, 02:39 PM
It'd be nice if you could fluke a modded one :)

Brad
7th January 2009, 02:41 PM
True but the last one I got was direct from the factory refurb itself.

Brad

sairuk
7th January 2009, 02:44 PM
It'd be nice if you could fluke a modded one :)

yeh couldnt see it happening from EB, modded (or opened) xboxes are too easy to spot, being that you have to puncture a sitcker to open the case. Best best for opened ones is cashies.

My brother in law scored 2 modded ones from cashies for around $20ea around easter last year. 2 modded and 1 not modded which he passed onto me. Was the one i TSOP flashed a couple of days ago. The drive is ratshit though, wont read CDRWs anymore.

inthemix
3rd April 2009, 08:19 AM
http://www.eurogamer.net/forum_thread_posts.php?thread_id=28592

Fool proof soft mod walk through. I've done it and had no probs.

Mickey Juice
8th April 2009, 01:14 PM
Quick question...
I have an xbox here with a physically busted HDD.

What's the best way to repair? I assume you can't just swap out old xbox HDDs cold, and that I'd need to mod it.

Can it be softmodded without a working HDD or will it have to be a physical chip? I assume it has to be a chip.

dmworking247
8th April 2009, 03:12 PM
MJ, could you just put in another 10gb hdd from another original xbox? If so you could probably have mine after I successfully mod it and upgrade to a bigger hdd.

Brad
8th April 2009, 03:15 PM
Yes but from memory you need the original as the "key" is generated from the hardware. I think though there are tools to generate a new one if your HDD dies.

Brad

Mickey Juice
8th April 2009, 03:42 PM
I've got plenty of originals from other mods I've done... but yeah the 'key' thing was what I thought might be stopping me. Might do some reading.

EDIT: Just did some quick reading...

The Xbox hard drive is matched to the motherboard.

You can get the key from the hard drive... with mine being dead that's not possible... or you can wire up a eeprom reader to extract the key from the motherboard.

The other option is putting in a modchip which will allow you to put in a new unlocked HDD.

Eeprom readers:
http://www.llamma.com/xbox/Repairs/Reading_Xbox_Hdd_key.htm

http://mail.exis.net/blogs/dirkus/item_77.htm

Arcade King
8th April 2009, 04:00 PM
yep theres software to backup your eeprom with the key. I recently put a 200 gig HDD in my xbox and was a piece of piss using the Xbox HD maker and recovery tool. It makes a bootable ISO using your backup and key from your original hard drive the rest is just menu driven, you can clone, copy or even make a hdd from scratch it then locks the HDD for you ready to put back in your xbox.

Mickey Juice
8th April 2009, 04:31 PM
My problem is the original drive is physically dead, so there's no way to get the eeprom key off it :(

Arcade King
8th April 2009, 04:53 PM
bugger i guess your only option would be to read the eeprom with a programmer or just buy another SH xbox

Brad
8th April 2009, 04:55 PM
I'm sure you can generate a new one with another xbox hdd. I read it a few months ago. In fact I'm sure of it

Brad

dmworking247
8th April 2009, 04:55 PM
Or mod it for a $20 chip and put a better hdd in it. Cheaper (or worst case, the same price) as another xbox.

If you scrap that one, I'd like it, as I have an xbox with a dead PSU. :)

Arcade King
8th April 2009, 04:56 PM
Or mod it for a $20 chip and put a better hdd in it. Cheaper (or worst case, the same price) as another xbox.

If you scrap that one, I'd like it, as I have an xbox with a dead PSU. :)

yeah theres a thought

hikaru
8th April 2009, 05:12 PM
you could try swapping the boards from the faulty hdd with a good one.

not sure if they are locked on the flash on the board of by the data on the disc.

worth a try?

what hdd
wd 8gb?
seagate 8gb?
seagate 10gb?

i might have a few lying around

DevoDave
8th April 2009, 10:16 PM
Quick question...
I have an xbox here with a physically busted HDD.

What's the best way to repair? I assume you can't just swap out old xbox HDDs cold, and that I'd need to mod it.

Can it be softmodded without a working HDD or will it have to be a physical chip? I assume it has to be a chip.

Chip it, put in a new HDD, load on software. You can then lock the HDD and remove the mod if need be, or leave it modded.

Can't softmod it to fix it. Has to be a hard mod.

Have done this MANY times. Common fault.

Mickey Juice
8th April 2009, 10:21 PM
Cheers.

It's not my box (if it was I would have just chipped it straight away). I'll wait and see what they want to do.


you could try swapping the boards from the faulty hdd with a good one.

not sure if they are locked on the flash on the board of by the data on the disc.



Both. The drive is locked to the epprom on the board ie they have to match.

li_gangyi
9th April 2009, 01:58 AM
You can build a serial port eeprom reader for less than $20 in parts if you only want to read the HDD key out. I've done this a couple of times, together with copying the necessary files over to a HDD to softmod the Xbox, and then re-locking the HDD with the same key the Xbox expects.

If at this point you have a TSOP that's flashable, you can flash it (need to bridge the right points of course), and then use SlayerS to re-do the entire thing.

Or If you have a 1.6 (Non-TSOP-able), stick with the softmod, or get a real modchip.

Mickey Juice
28th May 2009, 09:32 PM
I have a heap of old xbox hard drives laying around.. is it possible to 'unlock' them without the original hardware to use them in another Xbox?
Just throwing them in a chipped xbox doesn't work... they throw up an error code before booting the DVD drive.

DevoDave
29th May 2009, 08:07 AM
I have a heap of old xbox hard drives laying around.. is it possible to 'unlock' them without the original hardware to use them in another Xbox?
Just throwing them in a chipped xbox doesn't work... they throw up an error code before booting the DVD drive.

No. Not unless you unlocked them with the original Xbox they came in. If you did that.. then relocked them.. then you should be able to use the password "TEAMASSEMBLY" to unlock them again. Otherwise chuck 'em.

I sold hundreds of ex-xbox HDD's on ebay when they had some value.. started off getting around $40 each, dropped down to $5 each by the end. Nice little side-earner.

Mickey Juice
29th May 2009, 09:31 AM
Doh! I think most of them are locked.

I assume you unlocked them before selling?

mxd
29th May 2009, 11:02 AM
Hey Guys,

I just pulled my old h/w modded xbox out again (kids are old enough not to kill it too quickly) it's running evoX v1.2 I think, should I upgrade ? If so how and whats ths best way to do it ?

cheers
Matt

ocdcsv
29th May 2009, 01:19 PM
@mickey

What models are the harddisk?

@mxd
Does the xbox startup with EVOX dashboard and then you launch games/XBMC etc?
If so you can upgrade the XBMC which has had the most changes by FTP into the xbox
Most Evox Dashboards haven't really changed much overtime so it should be fine.

If you attempt to upgrade the harddisk with a 137GB+ harddisk you might need to load a new bios that has the 137GB+ option.

mxd
29th May 2009, 01:50 PM
thanks for that, it starts evoX then I select games or apps (xbmc being one of them)

it's got a 80 gig HDD, so I think I leave it alone.

Mickey Juice
29th May 2009, 03:37 PM
@mickey

What models are the harddisk?



Off the top of my head, the majority of them are Seagates.
I can get specific model numbers when i get home.

ocdcsv
29th May 2009, 03:44 PM
thanks for that, it starts evoX then I select games or apps (xbmc being one of them)

it's got a 80 gig HDD, so I think I leave it alone.

So you just need to ftp a newer XBMC over to the apps directory on E or G drive
Rename the existing directory to XBMC_old just incase you need it.


Off the top of my head, the majority of them are Seagates.
I can get specific model numbers when i get home.

Seagates need a cable/maxChip for rs232toTTL ad connection to the serial port.
Some special commands and it will unlock and reformat the drive ready for use.

DevoDave
29th May 2009, 05:26 PM
I assume you unlocked them before selling?

Yep.. not much use otherwise.

Mickey Juice
22nd September 2009, 08:50 PM
re: XBMC playlists.

Does anyone know if it's possible to play a video playlist (stored on anothe Xbox) over the network ?

I've got my main Xbox with the 500Gb drive and all my songs etc plus my playlists, and I just wanted to play those playlist/video clips from another Xbox over the network...

I'm guessing I'd have to make the playlist local and edit it to point to the remote xbox with all the songs?

sairuk
30th September 2009, 12:47 PM
re: XBMC playlists.

Does anyone know if it's possible to play a video playlist (stored on anothe Xbox) over the network ?

I've got my main Xbox with the 500Gb drive and all my songs etc plus my playlists, and I just wanted to play those playlist/video clips from another Xbox over the network...

I'm guessing I'd have to make the playlist local and edit it to point to the remote xbox with all the songs?


if you stored the playlist on the remote machine (ie something like an m3u or pls file) I am assuming you could just browse through to the remote machine once they connect to each other and play it via upnp etc?

should be pretty easy to do

if you want to store it locally I'd look into the option of having the UPNP renderer/server options enabled on the respective xboxes then build a playlist locally from the upnp source.

I have not tested either idea.

Mickey Juice
30th September 2009, 01:27 PM
I managed to get it working pretty easily.

I made a new (temp) playlist on the remote xbox (connecting back, and playing files on the other networked xbox). I opened the temp playlist and made a note on how it was working ie had the other xbox's IP address etc before the file entries.

So then I just edited my original party playlist to contain the IP details etc (find & replace in wordpad). Then copied this back to the xbox that I wanted to use...

Hope that kinda make sense!