PDA

View Full Version : JUKEBOX SPEAKER SET UP??



daics3522
20th December 2008, 07:35 PM
Hi all,
I have GEFORCE TOUHSCREEN Jukebox Project and am running Partytime Jukebox Software.

I have installed the motherboard, HDD, PSU and the machine is running brilliant, although I only have a standard sound / audio card with the jacks in it (pink, blue and green).

I want to wire 2 x tweeter speakers and 2 x 1000 Watt speakers (with LEDS) that are sound activated (I already have the sound activation device).

My question is this:
What is the best setup for wiring four speakers (as above) when I only have the standard jacks on the sound / audio card ??. Do I need to run an amp or is there a simpler way??

Looking for advice on the what people think is the best option.

AdamC
20th December 2008, 08:53 PM
You will need it to be amplified to get decent sound out of it. I havent mucked around with tweeters , etc. So I dont know what type of crossover you would need.

All i have used are logitech computer speakers.

gints
20th December 2008, 09:15 PM
Be careful with that setup, if you want two 1000 Watt drivers, I assume they are going to be very large woofers (sub woofers). With woofers and tweeters you will kiss your sweet vocal and guitar mid-range goodbye.

If you want big drivers, you'll need some 4"/6" drivers in the middle there, and probably make crossovers to match based on their freq. response curves. Easy solution would be to find some decent tower speakers (ie: 3 ways) where the drivers are good but perhaps the cabinets are rooted/scratched/water damaged. You could pay nothing for them and rip out the drivers and crossovers.

...and of course you will need an amp... a big one if you want 1000W (1000WRMS is an absolute ridiculous shitload of power....you better be building this thing ****ing strong...)

David_AVD
20th December 2008, 09:55 PM
I want to wire 2 x tweeter speakers and 2 x 1000 Watt speakers (with LEDS) that are sound activated (I already have the sound activation device).

I'd take that 1000W figure with a grain of salt. Maybe 100W - 200W RMS. Maybe...

Yes, you'll need an amplifier. What sort of crossover you'll need will depend on the tweeters. Are they really light plastic (piezo) or heavier with a magnet?

gints
20th December 2008, 10:08 PM
I'd take that 1000W figure with a grain of salt. Maybe 100W - 200W RMS. Maybe...


Yeah as always with cheap audio stuff I guess. 1000W peak at 5% THD maintained for 2 seconds lol

David_AVD
20th December 2008, 11:12 PM
Yeah as always with cheap audio stuff I guess. 1000W peak at 5% THD maintained for 2 seconds lol

Those PMPO figures are just ridiculous in some cases. I always say "peak power with a tail wind just before they explode"! :lol
Seriously, 50W per channel of real (RMS) power should be more than enough for any home juke although allow twice that much for the sub channel.

AskJacob
21st December 2008, 02:45 PM
Those PMPO figures are just ridiculous in some cases. I always say "peak power with a tail wind just before they explode"! :lol
Seriously, 50W per channel of real (RMS) power should be more than enough for any home juke although allow twice that much for the sub channel.

PMPO = Peak Marketing Power Output

Lets assume a 80% efficent amp (damn unlikely) then you'd need to run those speakers on 3 phase :D, so yeah, the 1kW ratiung may be a little bit tweaked by the marking people...

Do the speakers have their own amps built in?

Cheers
Jacob

daics3522
21st December 2008, 03:17 PM
PMPO = Peak Marketing Power Output

Lets assume a 80% efficent amp (damn unlikely) then you'd need to run those speakers on 3 phase :D, so yeah, the 1kW ratiung may be a little bit tweaked by the marking people...
Do the speakers have their own amps built in?
Cheers
Jacob

The speakers I bought off ebay in a boombox car audio setup. I stripped them out and installed them. They have a PCB wired to them for sound activations and that is all. They are 12" diameter.

I will check the wattage written on them later today and repost. Will send a couple of photos too so you can have a look.
Cheers

AskJacob
21st December 2008, 03:21 PM
Oh OK, then it sounds like you most definately will need an amp, I wouldn't think a PC port would be rated any more than 2W tops...

Car amp sounds like a good match if the speakers were from a car setup (I assume then the speakers would be 4ohm, whereas most home audio gear is setup for 8ohm speakers).

As long as your 12v power supply has enough grunt, you will be ok to run a car amp - but remember it will be a little low on its badged output as they really run on 13.8v in a car, not 12v...

Cheers
JAcob

RetroGame
22nd December 2008, 08:37 AM
As long as your 12v power supply has enough grunt, you will be ok to run a car amp - but remember it will be a little low on its badged output as they really run on 13.8v in a car, not 12v...

Cheers
JAcob

It will have to be a BIG power supply as well, the Arcade/PC power supplys will not be able to supply the juice for a car amp. Plus you will probably get hum through the system because you will be using AC power. I think the best solution would be to purchase a home audio amp of Ebay, it will work out a LOT cheaper.

gints
22nd December 2008, 09:17 AM
Dealing with alot of current here if you go 12 volt car gear... The amp I am about to rip out of my car drew 50 amps, running through garden hose cable (2 guage). That calls for more than a casual 12v desktop supply...

I would also buy a decent home amp

AskJacob
22nd December 2008, 09:17 AM
It will have to be a BIG power supply as well, the Arcade/PC power supplys will not be able to supply the juice for a car amp. Plus you will probably get hum through the system because you will be using AC power. I think the best solution would be to purchase a home audio amp of Ebay, it will work out a LOT cheaper.

Yeah, I thought about it overnight. Arcade PSUs have stuff all 12v current to spare... I have a PC one that has 20A at 12v (:o) but yeah, all sorts of grounding issues can pop up using car gear on a mains supply...

Cheers
Jacob

Black Tiger
23rd December 2008, 11:51 PM
The the speaker setup that has made my Jukebox project grind to a halt - I am completely at a loss of what to do :unsure I want something simple like a Logitec or Altec Lansing 2.1 system, but reading reviews etc, they're all made to be put on your computer desktop - not a jukebox cab.
I've got eyes on ebay for something special, but until that turns up, my project is on ice :confused:

biggeorge
24th December 2008, 05:23 AM
The easy way to put car stereo gear into a cabinet is to hook it up using a big-assed 12v battery as a capacitor. It smooths out the AC power supply noise, it takes all the LARGE peak power requirements and smooths them out, and they work brilliantly.
I did it using only a PC power supply.

When the PC is on, it is charging the battery.

A car battery can take anywhere from 350amp shock loads up to 600amp. CCA rating is the Cold Cranking Amps. For starting your engine. So if you were to crank the thing RIGHT UP for a few seconds it will handle it, when your ears begin bleeding you will turn it back down to sensible levels and the battery will begin charging again.

I used a battery from a UPS in my project. Worked great.
Hooked up 2 car stereo amps, one for the 6x9's and the other for the sub which was bridged.

daics3522
26th December 2008, 04:26 PM
I used a battery from a UPS in my project. Worked great.
Hooked up 2 car stereo amps, one for the 6x9's and the other for the sub which was bridged.


How bout a couple of pics george to see how you did this.....

daics3522
26th December 2008, 04:53 PM
How bout a couple of pics george to see how you did this.....

This is my speaker set up I have for the jukebox that I will require an amp of some sort to run. Any suggestions would be appreciated.....
http://i366.photobucket.com/albums/oo104/daics3522/PC260001.jpg?t=1230270416
Two speakers connected by a sound activated PCD for the LED's

http://i366.photobucket.com/albums/oo104/daics3522/PC260004.jpg?t=1230270509
Speaker with the LED surround

http://i366.photobucket.com/albums/oo104/daics3522/PC260002.jpg?t=1230270582
PCB with the LED connectors

http://i366.photobucket.com/albums/oo104/daics3522/PC260003.jpg?t=1230270651
Close up of sound activation PCB

http://i366.photobucket.com/albums/oo104/daics3522/PC260005.jpg?t=1230270727
Pic of the connector box

biggeorge
26th December 2008, 05:10 PM
Gawd, it was 3 years ago when I did it and the machine is now in tasmania.
If I remember correctly I parallelled the battery into the amps from the PC power supply.


From the amps onwards, it's basic standard car stereo wiring, using one amp in bridged mode for the sub, and the other to drive the main speakers, crossovers, etc..

I also took a 12v supply from the power supply and fed it into the 12v switch on the amps to fire them up with the PC.

There's a few ways to do this if you wanna play around with relays and diodes, and i'm sorry to be vague about it but whatever I did worked nicely.
The point is that the battery took all the bumps out of the sound, no lights went dim or anything stupid when you would crank the thing right up.

I will ask the owner if he can send me some pics to refresh my memory. I remember I racked my brains over it for weeks and then one day a lightbulb came on in my head, I did it and it worked great.

I have a few spares of these batteries if anybody wants them, I will never use them. They are bloody heavy tho, too heavy to post.

Nidzdotnet
30th December 2008, 09:48 AM
People like to think that with a Jukebox you need to go the most powerful speakers money can buy. Wrong.. I use my jukebox at parties and people want music but still want to be able to talk to each other. I have a Creative 5.1 speaker setup in mine and it's got a built-in amp in the sub. It's been loud enough for any occasion that I can think of and you can pickup a set of these speakers cheap as. Runs an external volume knob that I have attached to the back of the unit for volume adjustment as some of my music is OGG and loud and some is lower bitrate mp3.. I'm running a Creative Labs 5300 setup minus a center speaker. I might add that later on but yeah, you don't always need the biggest speakers to get good impact.

daics3522
30th December 2008, 03:45 PM
People like to think that with a Jukebox you need to go the most powerful speakers money can buy. Wrong.. I use my jukebox at parties and people want music but still want to be able to talk to each other. I have a Creative 5.1 speaker setup in mine and it's got a built-in amp in the sub. It's been loud enough for any occasion that I can think of and you can pickup a set of these speakers cheap as. Runs an external volume knob that I have attached to the back of the unit for volume adjustment as some of my music is OGG and loud and some is lower bitrate mp3.. I'm running a Creative Labs 5300 setup minus a center speaker. I might add that later on but yeah, you don't always need the biggest speakers to get good impact.

Thank NIZ,
I only bought these speakers for the LED's that are sound activated. I got em for $50.00 (set of 2) so thought what is the best way to do this.......

I have now scored a 5.1 Home theatre set up that I will put in and see what happens. Once done I will advise and post pics / vids............

daics3522
30th December 2008, 05:32 PM
Thank NIZ,
I only bought these speakers for the LED's that are sound activated. I got em for $50.00 (set of 2) so thought what is the best way to do this.......

I have now scored a 5.1 Home theatre set up that I will put in and see what happens. Once done I will advise and post pics / vids............

Installed the Phillips 5.1 Home theatre set up and shazzzzzaaaaammmmmm its all good................... Subwoofer, Centre balance, 2 front and 2 rear speakers all workin a treat.... Now just need to wire the LED's to the power supply and or find a 240 - 12 Volt adaptor and its time for a PARTAY....................:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

So much easier than what I was tryin to do..... Now just need the attract lights board from David (:unsure) and all complete.......................

daics3522
30th December 2008, 06:46 PM
Installed the Phillips 5.1 Home theatre set up and shazzzzzaaaaammmmmm its all good................... Subwoofer, Centre balance, 2 front and 2 rear speakers all workin a treat.... Now just need to wire the LED's to the power supply and or find a 240 - 12 Volt adaptor and its time for a PARTAY....................:D:D:D:D:D:D:D.......... .So much easier than what I was tryin to do..... Now just need the attract lights board from David (:unsure) and all complete.......................

Here is the JB working with the touchscreen.....
Sorry about the sound level but I thought I had it loud enough but obviously not!!!!!!!!!!! :unsure

http://s366.photobucket.com/albums/oo104/daics3522/?action=view&current=30122008002.flv

prktkljokr
30th December 2008, 06:51 PM
Dick smith jobbie do it there Daics?

daics3522
30th December 2008, 06:53 PM
Dick smith jobbie do it there Daics?

Similar product but my brother works for Phillips and had an old style 5.1 Home Theatre surround sound setup. I thought WTF give it a go and it works sweet.

Had to but a stereo jack to Audio (Red/White) adaptor like yours and now its PARTYTIME !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

narf_
30th December 2008, 08:45 PM
like its 19 90 9

dmworking247
31st December 2008, 05:38 PM
I always thought the rule of thumb was PMPO= divide by 10 for 'real' wattage (RMS).

Ie, 1000 watt PMPO = 100 watt RMS (roughly).

My other rule of thumb is that if they advertise using PMPO, they're not trying to appeal to the 'audiophile' market, thus don't expect much.

Nidzdotnet
2nd January 2009, 12:02 AM
I lent my jukebox out to a friend for there NYE party the other day and it was great. People loved it. It was actually my second revision as the first one was double the size and was just too hard to transport. This was propped up on a table and people were queuing up music all night. The problem I find is that because I've got over 1600 albums on it that the 12 albums per line is the maximum that I have to run it with and there is a maximum number of albums. I wished the guy who wrote this would get back into making his new website and fix it all up and give people a proper forum cause it's an awesome piece of software. The Creative Labs 5300 speaker set worked a treat and was ample for a fair size back yard to have a party.. Sometimes I would have to nudge the volume down so people could talk to each other. I had 1 drunk lady come and tell me how great it was and how viable it would be for me to make more and sell them.. If only they knew how much work goes into making them..

YouTube - Home-Made Jukebox running @ NYE 2008 Party

Brad
2nd January 2009, 09:37 AM
Yeah I always have people say I could make a fortune making and selling Mame Cabs and Jukeboxes....They have no idea really.

Brad

narf_
2nd January 2009, 02:29 PM
wonder how a 8 inch car sub would go in a cabinet :unsure

biggeorge
3rd January 2009, 05:18 AM
Brad, I couldn't agree more.

Most people see the MAME/Jukebox machine for the first time and are completely WOWed, jaw on the floor, "I want one!!!" and then you tell 'em the price to custom build one and the response is "Yeah yeah yeah, I'll get the money...." and when the time comes to cough up it's like "Ahhh, yeah I'd like one but the kids need braces more, and the dog out in the yard that nobody has liked since it was a puppy had to have an operation that cost $4000 to save his 14 year old ass...."

Best thing i've found is to take a deposit, and layby as you build it. Then you get a bit of commitment.

As for PMPO figures. This figure is the peak of what the scope measures when they drive a power surge through it at the highest settings, just as the speaker cone rips and right before the magnet has jumped out and is rolling around on the floor.

YouTube - How they measure PMPO on speakers

DM is right though, anybody who likes audio would not rely on PMPO figures or even buy anything labelled PMPO.