PDA

View Full Version : Logic probes



Virgil Tracy
16th July 2006, 06:33 AM
Dick smiths are running these out for $19.95 and will no longer stock them. If you want one get in quick I picked mine yesterday and I am amazed at how easy they are to use

The Pinny Parlour
16th July 2006, 07:42 AM
Thanks for the heads-up. :)

MadMikeAU
16th July 2006, 09:55 AM
( RANT )

Dick Smiths has really gone to the dogs since they (and Tandy) were bought by ALH (who in turn was bought by Woolworths).

It looks like they are minimising their electronics stock and trying to become Harvey Norman :lol I mean, that just leaves Jaycar as the place to get bits.

Its not just the death of a hobby if these places go. Its the death of being able to make/invent your own electronics. Which will result in fewer electronic inventions from current generations and 0 from future generations as they wont have the access to take up the hobby.

Piss me off.

( /RANT )

The Pinny Parlour
17th July 2006, 08:57 PM
I grabbed the last one from my local Dickies today. Cheers. Mine was $19.81

Virgil Tracy
17th July 2006, 09:22 PM
I grabbed the last one from my local Dickies today. Cheers. Mine was $19.81


I m going to go get a 14 cent refund I got ripped off

xygt
19th July 2006, 10:30 PM
1 left in South Australia at the Pultney Street store.

I got the second last one as a spare (x2):badgrin

Savage
20th July 2006, 11:44 AM
Can anyone give me a part number? Want to make sure I get (if available) the right thing....

Also got the from Marvin's site
The Best Capacitor Tester - the ESR Meter.
There is yet another way to test capacitors. Called the ESR (Equivalent Series Resistance) or low ohms meter, this is the best way to test caps. This nifty device allows testing capacitors in-circuit, with extreme reliability. This works especially good for repairing video game monitors and power supplies, but is also useful for pinball. Testing of all the caps on a circuit board can be done in seconds, without removing the caps.

so with a Logic Probe, does the cap have to be removed?

Virgil Tracy
20th July 2006, 11:56 AM
Can anyone give me a part number? Want to make sure I get (if available) the right thing....


so with a Logic Probe, does the cap have to be removed?
They only sell one type of logic probe, as for the caps that should not matter as it is only used to test the output of the IC on the board.

Savage
20th July 2006, 12:07 PM
Cool, so you don't use them to test caps? or they can't be used to test caps? Sorry bit confused

Virgil Tracy
20th July 2006, 01:33 PM
Cool, so you don't use them to test caps? or they can't be used to test caps? Sorry bit confused

No you dont use them to test caps, a decent multimeter will test caps.

Mickey Juice
20th July 2006, 02:01 PM
( RANT )

Dick Smiths has really gone to the dogs since they (and Tandy) were bought by ALH (who in turn was bought by Woolworths).

It looks like they are minimising their electronics stock and trying to become Harvey Norman :lol I mean, that just leaves Jaycar as the place to get bits.

Its not just the death of a hobby if these places go. Its the death of being able to make/invent your own electronics. Which will result in fewer electronic inventions from current generations and 0 from future generations as they wont have the access to take up the hobby.

Piss me off.

( /RANT )

True. Like the death of Electronics Australia. At least Silicon Chip bought all their back catalog.

At least the guys at Jaycar know a bit about electronics. The DSE people are idiots.