PDA

View Full Version : What size fuse



bretty
11th July 2006, 10:57 PM
I just need to know what amp the main fuse on the outside of a cocktail cab should be.
thanks
Brett

jumpydoctor
11th July 2006, 11:14 PM
Hi Bretty, I would say use a 3A. As a guide a 14" lai cocktail used a 3A main fuse and the hankin 20" cocktail 5A.

bretty
11th July 2006, 11:24 PM
thanks Gavin, fast blow or slow blow ?

jumpydoctor
12th July 2006, 07:02 PM
Hi Bretty, Over current is not something expected in an arcade machine so you want to use a fast blow fuse. A slow blow fuse can tolerate brief overcurrent situations (Like a motor starting) and blow when these become sustained. If you can get hold of a tong tester you can safely check the current your machines draw by simply placing the clamp around the mains lead when your machine is running. Cheap ones come up on ebay with multi meters built in from time to time and it is an interesting exercise. Of course if you have troubles with mains voltages take care and seek proper advice.