PDA

View Full Version : Gauntlet Work In Progress



Womble
5th September 2008, 11:36 PM
Imported a Gauntlet board recently, has been sat in the spare room waiting for me to feel the urge to build what is probably the daftest wiring loom ever, tho bubble bobble comes close. Damn that JAMMA standard made life easier. It came with some old wiring which I attempted to reuse, which was a pain in the rear but worked out ok in the end.

De-flakified

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e230/Womble76/gaunt.jpg

Gauntlet has no onboard amp, and has stereo sound, so I had to make an amp, and inject that sound into my cab speakers bypassing the split-mono wiring that JAMMA calls for, always keen to do things the hard way I bought the remnants of a kit on ebay for $8...

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e230/Womble76/pre-amp.jpg

..filled in the blanks at jaycar and pinched a couple of heatsinks from scrap capcom boards.

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e230/Womble76/post-amp.jpg

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e230/Womble76/gaunt2.jpg

The two little white blobs on wires on the left are volume pots from scrap boards, one for left, and one for right channel. Was attempting to find the correct signal resistance to get an acceptable volume. I fired it up without vol pots to test it and the dog nearly had kittens, I got shouted at from the lounge too, which is the other side of the house, damn it was loud. 2K ohms gets it about right, so I have bought a 10K dual gang (for both channels on one control) pot, 8Ks worth of swing will bring the volume down to the 2K value, and the other 2K will give it a bit more volume left to run, coz the speakers might not be quite a deafening when not loose on a wooden floor.

The only problem with it now is a faulty speech synch chip, but I hopefully have one on the way that will restore it to its full glory. :D

BettyCrocker1942
6th September 2008, 09:05 PM
Impressive!!!!!

AskJacob
6th September 2008, 11:17 PM
Blue Wizard has shot the food.



Nice work. Are you gunning to set up a 4 player or 2 ?

Cheers

MetalSkin
8th September 2008, 09:18 AM
maaaan.... so envious one of my all time fav games! You don't plan on selling it once it's working do you?

Actually I would rather get one broken and learn how to repair it, but man I so loved this game.

Are you building a replica cab to put it in or just gonna throw it in a generic?

dmworking247
8th September 2008, 09:33 AM
I've got the perfect 4-player cab for that to go in :D


Btw, in my experience speakers are 2-3 times LOUDER when enclosed, instead of loose on a floor, so be careful!

Womble
8th September 2008, 12:44 PM
Hehe - dont plan on selling it I am afraid, had been looking for one for ages, there was a guy in NZ trying to sell on for $80, trouble was he said he had been trying to get it going for ages, and would include all the parts and connectors in the sale - could have been totally trashed. In the end I found this one on US ebay, sold as complete, untested but in mint nick, got it for $US25, which turned into $70 by the time it touched down in Melbourne. Still a bargain I think tho!

Its going into my only cab, an LAI 2 player. If I can find a 4 player CP for it then I will convert it to 4 player. I don't have the love of woodwork I would need to build a custom for it, or the room really.

The vol should still be ok - the vol pot I have is a 10Kohm, with the speakers on the floor 2Kohm stops them from blowing the roof off, but if they are louder in the cab I have the extra 8Kohm worth of range to play with.

Davefjedi
8th September 2008, 01:38 PM
Got a Pic of your current CP I have a 4 player 3 button CP metal insert thing

Womble
10th September 2008, 11:07 AM
The best photo I have handy is at the top of this thread, I would be interested in that CP if it would fit my cab - will measure it tonight actually.

4 player TMNT would be nuts!