PDA

View Full Version : Graphics Card Question



Crafty
13th August 2008, 08:02 PM
Ok I have an old 1.6Ghz P4 that I donated to my son, but to run a couple of games he would like it needs a graphics card..

Pretty simple really.

My question is what are the differences between PCi PCI-E and whatever else is out there.

I'm slightly confused??

Arcade King
13th August 2008, 08:04 PM
if its old you'll need probably need a AGP graphics card like a ati 9600 etc.

Crafty
13th August 2008, 08:21 PM
What's the difference???

The computer would be close on 5-6 yrs old....

astroboy440
13th August 2008, 08:23 PM
They are all different formats so your going to have to determine which one(s) your motherboard is compatible with. PCI-E is going to be the best. Check out tomsharware.com for a list of all the best value for money cards, its updated fairly frequently. Also make sure your comp is well stocked up on ram!

felixthadog
13th August 2008, 09:29 PM
Wouldn't your motherboard be too old to have a PCI-E slot in it? I would have thought only PCI or AGP :unsure

Matthew

redpoint
13th August 2008, 09:53 PM
5-6 years...

puts it at AGP would be my best guess...

i'd probably just check out eBay and see what u can find...

AskJacob
13th August 2008, 09:57 PM
Something like this one:

http://www.bigbencomputers.com.au/viewproduct.php?cid=511&pid=492880

I wouldn't be spending more than that on a machine that old...

Cheers

astroboy440
13th August 2008, 10:03 PM
Crafty, whats the motherboard in it?

opm881
13th August 2008, 10:26 PM
open the side of the pc and look at the top slot under the processor, should have the name of the kind of slot

bwodie
13th August 2008, 10:29 PM
what games does he want to run on it?

Crafty
13th August 2008, 10:46 PM
Cheers for all the replies guys...

I will look at the motherboard probably on the weekend.
I don't want to spend too much money as it is an old computer, but I dont want him playing on my new computer... Can't surf AA if he is on my PC.:evil

He wants to play lord of the rings (ROTKing) so needed an upgrade. My suggestion was to get it for his X-box (ver 1) with chip and HDD, no issues at all there....

bwodie
13th August 2008, 11:10 PM
think lotr is going to struggle on a 1.6ghz dude