PDA

View Full Version : help with everything



bretty
18th June 2006, 07:20 PM
I hooked up a couple of harnesses for Crazy kong and Moon Patrol boards today.When I plug them into my cab with horizontal monitor I just get distorted garbage on the screen but the games work as I can just make them out.Tried adjusting the monitor pots but to no avail I couldnt get a good picture.I then tried them in my other vertical cab and picture is great except CK is upside down(**** me its hard to play upside down) and MP is sideways?
Also in both cabs, sound works on MP but buttons dont.On CK buttons work but sound doesnt.WTF.Both cabs work well with their current games.
These are my first attempts at a JAMMA harness.Any help with any of this if it makes sense would be great.
cheers
Brett

MadMikeAU
18th June 2006, 07:26 PM
I hooked up a couple of harnesses for Crazy kong and Moon Patrol boards today.When I plug them into my cab with horizontal monitor I just get distorted garbage on the screen but the games work as I can just make them out.Tried adjusting the monitor pots but to no avail I couldnt get a good picture...

Sound like Horizontal sync is out on that monitor for these boards. Do other boards have the same problem in this cab?


...I then tried them in my other vertical cab and picture is great except CK is upside down(**** me its hard to play upside down) and MP is sideways?...

Vertical and horizontal cabs are the same, just that the screen is rotated. Looks like you need to rotate yours to play these.


...Also in both cabs, sound works on MP but buttons dont.On CK buttons work but sound doesnt.WTF.Both cabs work well with their current games...
Sounds like the harnesses are wrong. Check that they are wired to the right pins, got good solders, etc.

bretty
18th June 2006, 07:32 PM
There is a Run and Gun game in the cab now and it works perfectly.
Why would Crazy kong be upside down when the game in it now is the right way?

bwodie
18th June 2006, 07:41 PM
it seems some games can be completely random on their standard display, and appear upside down.
usualy there is a dip switch setting to flip it the other way up

The Pinny Parlour
18th June 2006, 07:42 PM
There is a Run and Gun game in the cab now and it works perfectly.
Why would Crazy kong be upside down when the game in it now is the right way?

By default that is how Falcon Crazy Kong runs. It's upside down. Every CK pcb I have seen does the same mate.

bretty
18th June 2006, 07:48 PM
ok cool thanks guys.Looks like I need to rotate the monitor.Remember reading some threads about that so have to do some homework.
As for the distorted pic on the other cab,I tried turning all the pots that I could see.Do I just keep fiddling with them maybe see if I missed one.As i said the game in it is fine.

Johns-Arcade
18th June 2006, 07:51 PM
I hooked up a couple of harnesses for Crazy kong and Moon Patrol boards today.When I plug them into my cab with horizontal monitor I just get distorted garbage on the screen but the games work as I can just make them out.Tried adjusting the monitor pots but to no avail I couldnt get a good picture.I then tried them in my other vertical cab and picture is great except CK is upside down(**** me its hard to play upside down) and MP is sideways?
Also in both cabs, sound works on MP but buttons dont.On CK buttons work but sound doesnt.WTF.Both cabs work well with their current games.
These are my first attempts at a JAMMA harness.Any help with any of this if it makes sense would be great.
cheers
Brett
Hi Bretty,

This is just how some vertical games came, some are one way, some are the other. Often the manufacture of the game would allow the game to be flipped via a dip switch setting or by grounding a pin on the edge connector. Have a look at the dip switch settings and see if you can flip the game this way. What I use to do when I ran my pcb's on a horizontal & vertical monitor set up, I'd wire in a switch into the yoke wires on the monitor, so if I plugged a game in and it was upside down, I'd turn off the monitor and flick the switch, turn it back on and I was right to play.

Regards,

JWG.

The Pinny Parlour
18th June 2006, 07:52 PM
Yep, I concur with JWG. I was just about to say similar then scrolled down and saw his post. :D :D :D

bretty
18th June 2006, 07:56 PM
How do you know what each dip switch does.Can you switch them while the games is on or should it be off ? Can I just try all of them?

Johns-Arcade
18th June 2006, 08:00 PM
Do you know which Crazy Kong PCB you have?

Also, it's best to switch the game off before moving any dip switches.

JWG

bretty
18th June 2006, 08:03 PM
Falcon
http://www.jammaboards.com/pinouts/Crazy%20Kong.txt

Johns-Arcade
18th June 2006, 08:08 PM
Unfortunately, it look as if the flip feature in not available on any of these boards.

JWG.

bigrob
18th June 2006, 08:11 PM
The dips for crazy kong can be found here http://www.crazykong.com/dips/CrazyKong.txt

EDIT - to slow

bretty
18th June 2006, 08:17 PM
Could anything else cause the pic to be distorted in the other cab or could it only be a monitor pot adjustment.

bretty
18th June 2006, 11:28 PM
Sorted the sound prob on Crazy Kong.Some dipshit wired it wrong:lol
Still cant get buttons to work on Moon Patrol.Seems to be wired correctly and the cab control panel is fine,Is it possible that it is a fault on the board that could cause this.I have not tried this board prior to now.

Prof
19th June 2006, 05:47 PM
OK, if you want to flip any axis on the monitor, easy.


You need to find the yoke wires.

These are as standard, RED & BLUE YELLOW & GREEN

I can't remember what pair does what axis , but what you can do is put toggle switches in these to swap them over. As in RED goes to BLUE and BLUE goes to RED.

Get yourself a 2PST toggle switch, rated at least 110v, and wire as so

You need to cross the wires on the outside poles.

RED________ __ BLUE
\ /
\ /
YOKE RED__ \ ____YOKE BLUE
\
/ \
BLUE_______/ \__ RED


When you have done this, it's a simple matter of throwing the switch to change axis. You need to do this to the YELLOW/GREEN pair as well.

You can mount these switches where convient alowing you to "rotate" the monitor 180' by changing both. You can also get a 4PST toggle and have both on the one switch.

It is advisable to change these whith the monitor powered off to prevent a shock load going thru the circurt and blowing components.

BTW, there is no real easy way of rotating a monitor 90' execpt to physically moving it.

Also, some monitors have 2 yoke outputs, changing to them will flip the screen.

And you can cut the connector in half and reverse it that way

bretty
19th June 2006, 10:09 PM
Thanks Prof,if only I had some idea what all that means.Looks like Im stuck playing Crazy Kong on my ****ing head. :cry

Prof
20th June 2006, 05:34 PM
Here's a couple of pics. You can see the split in the plug. :)

The first is as normal, the 2nd rotates the screen (yoke) 180'.

Hope it helps