PDA

View Full Version : Installing fluoro



felixthadog
5th May 2008, 09:32 AM
I would like to install a fluoro light in the marquee section of my lowboy cab and power it from the power supply on a PC, but looking at the marquee section I can't see any other way of running the wires from the fluoro except out through one of the handles in the rear of the marquee section. I have attached some photos showing the marquee section and also the section between the marquee and the arcade monitor. I'm not really happy with this solution, can anybody suggest another way to run the wires but so that they are concealed from view?

Pic #1 (http://s161.photobucket.com/albums/t223/felixthadog/Arcade/?action=view&current=Arcade_Fluoro_1.jpg)

Pic #2 (http://s161.photobucket.com/albums/t223/felixthadog/Arcade/?action=view&current=Arcade_Fluoro_2.jpg)

Pic #3 (http://s161.photobucket.com/albums/t223/felixthadog/Arcade/?action=view&current=Arcade_Fluoro_3.jpg)

Matthew

dmworking247
5th May 2008, 09:34 AM
First thought is you could route a groove along the back, bury the cable in there, and then fill/paint over the top of it. :)

Otherwise, most obvious thing is to use black cable and tuck it neatly in the corner so that its barely noticable.

felixthadog
5th May 2008, 09:39 AM
First thought is you could route a groove along the back, bury the cable in there, and then fill/paint over the top of it. :)

Otherwise, most obvious thing is to use black cable and tuck it neatly in the corner so that its barely noticable.

So drill a hole in the bottom rear corner of the marquee section, run the wires through the hole (flush with the cab) past the arcade monitor and down into the inside of the cabinet? I was thinking of doing it this way but was concerned how visible the wires would be from the front of the cab.

Matthew

dmworking247
5th May 2008, 09:40 AM
Well the routing idea (bury the cable) would be at the back of the cabinet, ie a hole through the back panel, route a groove from the hole down to another hole, then fill up the groove with puty (over the cable) and paint over it.

spacies
5th May 2008, 10:02 AM
Yeah, I would do the groove thing on the back as well.
You could cover it with a metal plate if you didn't want to bog over it.

felixthadog
5th May 2008, 10:14 AM
Yeah, I would do the groove thing on the back as well.
You could cover it with a metal plate if you didn't want to bog over it.

Yep, I think I will use something to cover the wires rather than route a groove in the wood, I am no handyman so I will go the safe route. But either way, running the wires out the rear of the cab is a much better solution than having them within view from the front of the cab :023:

Matthew

spacies
5th May 2008, 10:16 AM
You can cut the groove with a craft knife and chisel out the centre. MDF peels away with ease once you have scribed the lines.

felixthadog
5th May 2008, 10:22 AM
You can cut the groove with a craft knife and chisel out the centre. MDF peels away with ease once you have scribed the lines.

Making the groove wouldn't be so difficult then, but the problem for me would be the filling up, sanding and painting afterwards :cry

Matthew

spacies
5th May 2008, 10:38 AM
Cover it with a metal plate.

felixthadog
5th May 2008, 10:54 AM
Cover it with a metal plate.

Any ideas what the metal plate should look like? :unsure Something as flat as possible I would imagine.

Matthew

spacies
5th May 2008, 01:36 PM
Yes, use some 0.6mm panel steel or even a lighter gauge.
Hold it in place with some small ass nails then paint it black.

Prof
5th May 2008, 02:48 PM
steel strapping would work ok.

spacies
5th May 2008, 02:52 PM
steel strapping would work ok.

Great idea.

felixthadog
5th May 2008, 03:05 PM
steel strapping would work ok.

How would that work? Is steel strapping pliable? :unsure

Matthew

spacies
5th May 2008, 03:07 PM
Yes. Builders use it.
Have a look in the building section of Bunnings etc.

felixthadog
5th May 2008, 03:14 PM
Yes. Builders use it.
Have a look in the building section of Bunnings etc.

Cool, I'll check it out :)

Matthew

Prof
5th May 2008, 03:37 PM
grab some off an old pallet. Try the back of a couriers. Or ask the guys out the back of bunnings in the drive thru section if the have a bit of a pallet.

felixthadog
10th June 2008, 11:40 AM
OK, so I have installed the fluoro but need to cover the visible section of the wires on the back of the cab, I had a look at steel strapping on the web but I am not happy with it so thought about something like this (http://cableorganizer.com/images/wire-guards/wire-guard-colors-s.jpg) instead (but longer and made of metal with pre-drilled screwholes). Does anyone know where I can buy such a thing and what it is called? :unsure

Matthew

Bally
10th June 2008, 11:59 AM
you can use this:

and i am sure you can get that from an local electric store.

AskJacob
10th June 2008, 12:05 PM
you can use this:

and i am sure you can get that from an local electric store.

Ah, I was just about to suggest "Aussie Duct"

Even bunnings carry the stuff. A small square profile plastic duct... with a removable 'lid' - you put the duct on (double side tape/screws) fit in the wires, and press fit on the lid. Similar to pic 2 above.

Not to expensive either

felixthadog
10th June 2008, 01:45 PM
you can use this:

and i am sure you can get that from an local electric store.

Ooooh cool thanks, I'll go hunting for something like that :023:

Matthew