PDA

View Full Version : GameEX choppy city :(



Black Tiger
20th April 2008, 03:52 PM
Has anyone had problems with GameEx running slow?

After installing TinyXP Dev6 and getting everything running great, I still can't get GameEX to come to the party :( it's a magnificent frontend but it runs really sluggish in my cabinet.

As an experiment, I tried running it on the computer i'm typing on at the moment and it runs like a dream, i guess of course because it's got colossal amounts of CPU and RAM, but I thought my MAME cab would be able to handle it as it has a modest 2Ghz Pentium 4 CPU, mind you it only has 256Mb of RAM??

I don't think this is the problem though, I read some dude's post on You Tube who also had a 2Ghz but had just over 700Mbs of RAM and he was having the same problems. I guess GameEX is really tailored for running on modern, dual core systems.

here's the list of the possible problems I found, it makes my brain explode: :unsure


1. Dont have your MAME game picture images, snaps etc in ZIPS. This really slows it down at the moment.
2. Check your Audio driver. I just upgraded mine to a generic driver, and GameEx really suffered.
3. If background videos are slow, disable alpha blending.
4. Dont use MNG videos.
5. Optimize your PC by disabling unused services, applets, and tray apps.
6. Try running at a lower resolution.
7. Use the latest device specific manufacuturer drivers. Dont always rely on Windows Update.
8. If you have less than 512mb RAM, an upgrade might help.
9. Dont install and run GameEx on a removable drive such as USB/Firewire.
10. Ensure you are running latest version of .net framework, and DirectX.
11. If using Windows 98/ME, consider an upgrade to 2000 or XP.
12. Try using the 16 Bit colour setting in GameEx.
13. If Pictures and Slideshows display slowly turn off Alpha Blending Transitions
14. Ensure you have the latest non beta version of the .net framework
15. NVidia unified drivers newer than 66.93 and older than 81.85 seem to have serious bugs with DirectX 2D support. Get the latest drivers, or you can get 66.93 drivers here direct from this site (English) or here from NVidia. Note: on older cards you may still need to use the older drivers.
16. Make sure your running the latest version of GameEx. Old versions may have bugs that cause slow down.
17. If MAME games launch slowly, then use the -skip_validitychecks command line setting.
18. If you have games stored on a remote pc or server and the list takes a while to show up for emulators, consider using a MAP file. GameEx automatically creates map files for your emulators. These are located in the data directory by emulator number. You can simply use these.
19. When updating the MAME games list you can avoid the long wait for the verify by turning Verify ROMS off, and enabling Only Existing.
20. If navigating lists is slow, try turning off find snap/artwork on best match basis under Tweaks/Performance
21. Turn off GameExtender if your not using it. It is designed to use as less resources as it can, but its at least possible that it may slow down GameEx on older systems.
22. If you have a game device attached with less than 6 buttons, disconnect it or disable it in GameEx config.
23. You can make GameEx run a lot faster (maybe nearly twice as fast on old systems) by telling GameEx not to wait for VSync, although the display animations wont be 100% smooth to the human eye.
24. As of January 2007, there are issues with the current ATI drivers. This affects GameEx alpha blending such as when using 3D menu transitions and picture slideshow transitions. You can either turn off these features, or use older ATI drivers. Note: Picture and slideshows are fixed in newer versions of GameEx. There is still an issue with 3D menu transitions and running game videos as the background when alpha blended.
25. Turn off video previews for actual videos/movies (not meaning for emulators).

headkaze
20th April 2008, 04:10 PM
Having low memory like you do means that the swap file is used to store temporary data which can cause "thrashing" as data is swapped between the HDD and RAM. 256 MB is really too little to run GameEx.

I had issues with my Radeon 9800 Pro where newer drivers would cause GameEx to run really badly. So I had to use old drivers for it to run okay.

GameEx was written before Dual Core systems were commonplace so it's never been designed to run on them. The thing is emulation in general is going that way. Just look at Mame 64 and how well it runs, if you have a 32-bit OS/CPU you are already been left behind.

It's a judgement call whether you want to keep up, upgrade your PC or go for a FE and Mame version that your PC can handle.

Black Tiger
20th April 2008, 05:39 PM
It's a judgement call whether you want to keep up, upgrade your PC or go for a FE and Mame version that your PC can handle.

Thanks headkaze, that's all I really needed to hear ;) You've possibly saved me a few dollars on a pointless RAM upgrade and a registration fee.
GameEX is a magnificent piece of software, but it's not really worth giving my MAME system a massive upgrade just to get it working faster. It's only a front end :p

When I weight up the scales, all I want my system to do is run MAME, which it does extremely well, so I think I'll be sticking with Atomic.

danloads
20th April 2008, 07:45 PM
hey you got the full version of game ex or u running a version with that ****ing annoying start up screen?

Black Tiger
20th April 2008, 08:02 PM
hey you got the full version of game ex or u running a version with that ****ing annoying start up screen?

The one with the start up screen (nag screen) - that's what I was talking about it would have been a waste of cash (for me) to fork out for the registration, because my system can't handle it's hunger on resources. I was trying to nut out if I could get it working first (which it didn't)

felixthadog
20th April 2008, 08:37 PM
The one with the start up screen (nag screen) - that's what I was talking about it would have been a waste of cash (for me) to fork out for the registration, because my system can't handle it's hunger on resources. I was trying to nut out if I could get it working first (which it didn't)

Use MameWah ;)

Matthew

Black Tiger
20th April 2008, 09:45 PM
Use MameWah ;)

you know what? I just might have a go ;) I've just done a fresh re-installation so it would be a good opportunity to try something new.

How hard is it to set up? I heard MameWah is a little tricky.

felixthadog
20th April 2008, 09:49 PM
you know what? I just might have a go ;) I've just done a fresh re-installation so it would be a good opportunity to try something new.

How hard is it to set up? I heard MameWah is a little tricky.

Yep, it is a bit tricky to set up but once you understand how it works, it is simple to configure and backup ;) Start here (http://mamewah.mameworld.net/) and PM me if you get stuck :)

Matthew