PDA

View Full Version : Spacies 3 sided cocktail



spacies
28th March 2008, 12:50 PM
For those of you who don't know what a 3 sided cocktail is, well it has an extra control panel to play horizontal games.
Why build a 3 sided cocktail? Well for this guy its a matter of what the 'boss' will let in the house.

This is a JAMMA machine, not MAME, so I put this in the Arcade section.

In a nutshell:

Custom spacies black cab with chrome t-edge and an extra control panel.
TV screen with Jomac Chassis.
Vertical panels have 1 x Mag Stick Plus and 3 buttons. Artwork for these CPs will be based on Xevious side art.
Horizontal Panel will have 2 x Mag Stick Plus and have Multi Williams layout and artwork.
Art under the glass is a collage from localarcade.com with a vector of the Pacman maze which I have used before.

I am concerned about 'over arting' (:lol) but we will see.

Its starting to take shape and looks real good.
Pics soon.

dmworking247
28th March 2008, 01:09 PM
No pictures? Why are you wasting my time?

:lol

I look forward to seeing this completed in the next 48 hours... you've got a reputation to uphold :)

Syzlack
28th March 2008, 01:15 PM
No pictures? Why are you wasting my time?

:lol



Coz he Can!!!

spacies
28th March 2008, 01:18 PM
LOL.

Gimme a break!
Main part of the cab is done.
Just working on the CPs right now. As we all know, CPs are a mission!

3 things just don't go together. Dust, static electricity and acrylic sheets!

dmworking247
28th March 2008, 01:19 PM
Bah, my CPs only took me 2.5 months, what are you talking about?

3 other things: Cheap spray guns, wind, and tiny black bugs.

spacies
28th March 2008, 02:01 PM
2.5 months. thats gotta be a record!

(slowest ever) :D :lol :D

Yeah, those bugs really suck. They must smell paint miles away and all head straight for it. Mofos. Black is a nightmare as well.

Uploading pics now.

Crafty
28th March 2008, 02:04 PM
Well were waiting...

come on

Come on....:D

spacies
28th March 2008, 02:20 PM
Man you guys are impatient.

Some boring stuff first up.

So yeah, I am using the Mag Stick Plus which are switchable from 4 to 8 way from the top. Just lift the shaft and rotate. Very cool idea. I am not totally convinced on these sticks but haven't had a go with them yet. They have a very short throw.

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/310590925.jpg

You see the little white lever? That slides left and right when you change the confiuration. Nifty.

Theses sticks come standard as bat top but I wanted balls. Ball top shafts are extra $$$$. Some ning nong ordered the wrong length shafts so I had to flush mount them.

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/310595218.jpg

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/310590675.jpg

Excuse my rough cutting but the router shit itself last week so I had to use a blade and chisel :lol
To flush mount these I had to pull them to bits. It wasn't too hard but watch that darn spring and the locking washers. They dissapear right before your eyes.

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/310590929.jpg

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/310590927.jpg

That is the main plate fixed in place. Fairly straight forward stuff there.

Ta da:

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/310590933.jpg

The body of the stick screwed to the plate.

I was going to just stick the art to the top of the panel but because that idiot (me) ordered the wrong shafts I now have to cover the art with plexi. I don't like the plexi to be higher the the t-molding so I offset the slot by the thickness of the plexi, in this case 3mm, so the plexi will now sit flush with the t-molding. (hopefully)

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/310590931.jpg

More in a minute. Still typing.

Yeah,

As I said earlier, the vertical panels are having Xevious art.
I modded the side art to suit these panels:


http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/310591298.jpg

All buttons on this thing are going to be illuminated. This took ages to do. First up solder wires to the prongs on the LED. Cover the prongs with heatshrink. Cut wire again further up and solder in a resistor. Cover that with heatshrink. Drill holes in the base of the button. Multiply that by tons and you are done.

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/310591304.jpg

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/310591301.jpg

Now comes the problem with darn translucent buttons. The are different sizes. Out with the files spacies:

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/310591305.jpg

Its too hot to be doing that. Need beer.

Okily dokily.
All the buttons in and all the LED wires ready to go:

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/310591306.jpg

spacies
28th March 2008, 02:33 PM
Now for the good stuff:

Vertical panel:

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/310591921.jpg

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/310591919.jpg

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/310591927.jpg

The very beautiful horizontal panel:

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/310591918.jpg

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/310592101.jpg

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/310592098.jpg

Righto,

Back to work.

Darksoul
28th March 2008, 02:45 PM
Very nice.

Did you print your artwork yourself or go to a printer???

intigod
28th March 2008, 02:53 PM
omg... that is amazing!!!! :)

i should have got u to build my cp's!!

spacies
28th March 2008, 02:57 PM
Very nice.

Did you print your artwork yourself or go to a printer???

Thanks :)

I did it myself.


omg... that is amazing!!!! :)

i should have got u to build my cp's!!

Thanks.

I could build them. But they are already done?

dmworking247
28th March 2008, 03:39 PM
Were you hoping we didn't notice the 'flap' and 'inviso' buttons aren't aligned to the artwork?

Don't worry, I'm just picky because I'm jealous and can't do artwork for shit.... its my achilies heel ;)

Nice work, where'd you buy the magsticks/tranlucent buttons?

spacies
28th March 2008, 04:23 PM
LOL. Its always hard trying to line up custom stuff.
The Inviso is about half a mm off. I could make the hole a bit bigger then it will centre. The shadow is stopping you from seeing the yellow all the way around.
And the flap/reverse, I should have moved the right wing closer. Oh well. I ain't changing it now!

Magsticks from Ultimarc and the buttons from Rollies (forget his name on BYOAC). Should look cool lit up.

dr teeth
28th March 2008, 04:32 PM
:041: Those cp's look kick ass.

Well Done.

spacies
28th March 2008, 04:48 PM
:041: Those cp's look kick ass.

Well Done.

Thanks mate. I knew the Williams would be ok but wasn't sure on the other one. I tried green and blue buttons in it but the clear look dope. I am not sure what colour to light them? Green or Blue? Or?

Some more pics:

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/310610499.jpg

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/310610487.jpg

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/310610496.jpg

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/310610491.jpg


:)

WOKA
28th March 2008, 04:54 PM
Nice.. Very nice indeed.

dracer
28th March 2008, 05:00 PM
to nice, im shattered i could never do that. dam u dam u

felixthadog
28th March 2008, 06:41 PM
Some words spring to mind when I look at that work of art:

1) Superb
2) Awesome
3) Glorious
4) Unbelievable
5) Awe-inspiring

Congratulations on such a fine piece of arcade magic! :023::041:

Matthew

dmworking247
28th March 2008, 09:29 PM
LOL. Its always hard trying to line up custom stuff.

You're right there... after printing my first CP overlay for my 'version2 control panel' on the upright, I've decided I will print FIRST in future THEN drill the holes, rather than trying to line them up the other way around.

spacies
12th April 2008, 07:42 PM
2 weeks since I started this thread already! Crikey!

Just been playing this machine.
Only have 1 more build shot:

Its a jungle in there!

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/312941007.jpg

About 10 feet from me:

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/312941009.jpg

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2001/10876724/19356211/312941012.jpg

Time to play! Goodbye :)

Arcade King
12th April 2008, 07:59 PM
Toodles.

mrwolf
13th April 2008, 10:23 PM
Where did u get the clear ball tops for the sticks?

RetroBorg
14th April 2008, 07:07 AM
Spacies,

Awesome cab as usual, I'm interested in your thoughts on the Mag Stiks, what do you think of them?

spacies
14th April 2008, 07:55 AM
Thanks.

Geez I dunno mate. If you only had 1 cab then you would have to try these sticks. I reckon you would get used to them pretty quick. I don't know how well they would work on Streetfighter etc because the throw is incredibly short. I actually thought they handled Robotron very well but they a square restrictor inside which isn't ideal for that game.

I had a guy here who hadn't played video games since the 80's and he (like a ton of others) reckoned the joysticks weren't working properly. First thing I ask is what game are you playing? 8 times out of 10 they are playing Rally X and they just aren't planning their next move and expect the car to turn like Pacman. Then they get mad at the joysticks and really start yanking the ****in things. Thats when they get told off ever so politely. I jump on and show them that joysticks aren't pressure sensitive. Its either on or off.

The sticks are different to anything you have ever used. They are magnetically centred. That and the throw, it makes them seem very stiff and clunky. Would I recommended them? Yes, but only if you had 1 cab and were running a PCB. If you were running MAME, U360s would be much better. Would I buy more, yes.

I also had to tweak them a bit out of the box because the 4-8 way mechanism was getting stuck. Too hard to explain, but I can see a plastic part of the mechanism that would wear out after a while, but I suspect Ultimarc would have spares. Not sure why this piece is made from plastic and not metal.

Don't judge me though. Each to their own. Its a great idea and it works well. If these were the first sticks you had for your cab, you would be stoked.

:)

RetroBorg
14th April 2008, 05:56 PM
Thanks.

Geez I dunno mate. If you only had 1 cab then you would have to try these sticks. I reckon you would get used to them pretty quick. I don't know how well they would work on Streetfighter etc because the throw is incredibly short. I actually thought they handled Robotron very well but they a square restrictor inside which isn't ideal for that game.

I had a guy here who hadn't played video games since the 80's and he (like a ton of others) reckoned the joysticks weren't working properly. First thing I ask is what game are you playing? 8 times out of 10 they are playing Rally X and they just aren't planning their next move and expect the car to turn like Pacman. Then they get mad at the joysticks and really start yanking the ****in things. Thats when they get told off ever so politely. I jump on and show them that joysticks aren't pressure sensitive. Its either on or off.

The sticks are different to anything you have ever used. They are magnetically centred. That and the throw, it makes them seem very stiff and clunky. Would I recommended them? Yes, but only if you had 1 cab and were running a PCB. If you were running MAME, U360s would be much better. Would I buy more, yes.

I also had to tweak them a bit out of the box because the 4-8 way mechanism was getting stuck. Too hard to explain, but I can see a plastic part of the mechanism that would wear out after a while, but I suspect Ultimarc would have spares. Not sure why this piece is made from plastic and not metal.

Don't judge me though. Each to their own. Its a great idea and it works well. If these were the first sticks you had for your cab, you would be stoked.

:)

Thanks mate.

@lien_Zed
14th April 2008, 06:15 PM
For those of you who don't know what a 3 sided cocktail is, well it has an extra control panel to play horizontal games.

ya know what.

i had a brain storm session today on how to build a 3 sides cocktail. it would look on the outsid elike triangle but on the inside it would be a circle and the monitor mounted to the circle and you can rotate the monitor 358 degress (not the full 360 as there would be a locking pin to stop it going full circle. need to stop it going full circle so you dont tie the cables in knots and stuff the whole shooting match)

i doubt anyone would be interested in the plans so i have not bothered making any.

sorry to steal your thread, but i did think it was intersting have a 3 sides cocktain in the shape of a triangle

back to your regular programming schedule

Fish Tales
14th April 2008, 06:17 PM
That sure would look sweet in my back room. Very nice indeed, would anyone forget what a hankin was.

dezbaz
26th April 2008, 06:38 PM
Nice, Better than I thought before I saw it.

Keep em coming

I mean Better result than I expected from the early pics. When my PC eventually loaded the later pics I thought it ended up awesome

Gehirn
26th April 2008, 06:55 PM
Where did u get the clear ball tops for the sticks?

Also interested in the joystick tops , are they custom made by you ? If not , where can i buy some :D

zscorp
9th June 2008, 06:55 PM
One of the coolest cabs I have seen, where did you get the chrome stripping from??

Awesome job!!!!!

spacies
9th June 2008, 07:06 PM
Thanks. It now belongs to a member here.
The chrome edging comes from China but I think Gamedude has it. Check his site.

:)

zscorp
9th June 2008, 07:07 PM
Will do thanks!

Gehirn
9th June 2008, 09:07 PM
Hi spacies , Im sure youve answered this many times but were did you get the tops for your sticks ? :unsure

spacies
10th June 2008, 06:57 AM
www.lizardlick.com or www.arcadeshop.de

MetalSkin
10th June 2008, 09:05 AM
hey spacies,

Quick question about your cp's if you don't mind. How did you wire up your cp's? I'm going for something similar and wondering if you just wired em up so that both player 1 and player 2 controls work at same time or if you wired em up separately and used some kinda switch (or software if using mame) as a way to change which one is in use.

Obviously wiring em up together so that both work is the easiest course but I can just see some idiot touching the mirrored controls when your trying to play a game cause they think its funny (and when you yell at em to stop they would think its even funnier).

/metalskin

spacies
10th June 2008, 09:33 AM
No sweat.
That machine is Jamma so only one set of controls work at any time.

However I have built a few MAME 3 sided cocktails. Easiest way is to send the vertical and horizontal ground/earth CP wires to a toggle inside the coin door or somewhere easy accessible. Flick the switch to activate the correct orientation.

This was the 2nd cab I ever built:

http://pic4.picturetrail.com/VOL757/2715941/5432451/75752216.jpg

MetalSkin
10th June 2008, 09:53 AM
No sweat.
That machine is Jamma so only one set of controls work at any time.

However I have built a few MAME 3 sided cocktails. Easiest way is to send the vertical and horizontal ground/earth CP wires to a toggle inside the coin door or somewhere easy accessible. Flick the switch to activate the correct orientation.

Thanks for that, I was hoping to avoid using a switch but glad it's as simple as just applying to ground/earth. Thought I would have to apply it to each individual micro! Didn't realise that cutting off the ground/earth for a cp would disable it!

Hmm... was planning on having a 1/2 player on both ends and side, reckon it would be possible to make some kinda relay so that depending which 1 player button a user chose depended on which cp was active? The only issue with that I see is how to then pass on the 1/2 player selection to the interface... Hmm... maybe it's just easier to have a toggle switch. o_O


This was the 2nd cab I ever built:

...

Nice cab :) Hope my first comes out as good :)

My first cab that I'm currently building is a three sider. Was originally going to be a two sider (on the long edge), but realised that a three sider is more suited to my floor space... also works nicer with an lcd (which I may still not do, still tossing up to make it a jamma with jpac and tube or a ipac with lcd).

what_the
10th June 2008, 02:25 PM
I apologise in advance if this is slightly OT.

A mate is revved up about building himself a cocktail cab. The one thing he was gazumped about was mounting the CP to the body so to speak.

Having never built one I felt I wasnt qualified to offer advice ( only done two uprights).

Does anyone have any preferred method for mounting the control panel? Or better yet piccies?

Any help would be appreciated.

spacies
10th June 2008, 03:02 PM
I just screw them straight to the cab from the inside.

MetalSkin
10th June 2008, 03:07 PM
I just screw them straight to the cab from the inside.

That's what I thought I saw from the pics :) I'm curious on the total width including the CP's of the cocktail cab. I'm battling the age old issue of fitting mine in doors, was thinking of making my CP removable because of this issue. In my case mine is 650mm wide without the CP. Not sure including CP.

what_the
10th June 2008, 04:21 PM
I just screw them straight to the cab from the inside.

Cool. I should have realised it would be so simple. But it never hurts to ask.

Cheers.