PDA

View Full Version : G-Con Light Gun on RGB?



Lord-Data
25th February 2008, 12:29 PM
Ok, not structly a MAME question, but doesn't really fit anywhere else.

I'm building my mame machine into my cabinet, and absolutely love the game Point Blank. Now, it just so happens, i have a copy of that for playstation, and a g-con gun. I only have a PS2 at the moment, but can pick up a cheap PS1 to build into this cabinet. I understand the basic principles to convert the PSX -> JAMMA, so long as it has NTSC output from the PSX. However, the G-con connects to the composite output from the PSX, how does this work with RGB wiring?

Anyone know how i'd go about connecting this up? Is it just sync that the gun uses from the composite video output? If so, can I just take the combined sync from the RGB output and feed it to the gun?

Anyone done anything like this before? :) Thanks!

Lord-Data
25th February 2008, 12:50 PM
ok, update already. I've found if I use a SCART connector out from my PSX, I'll R,G,B, and Composite video. I've found a circuit on http://www.mameworld.net/pc2jamma/arc_sat2.html that will convert the composite video -> composite sync for my monitor. So in theory, I should be able to attach the G-con's cable prior to the video -> sync converter, and the g-con will get video, the arcade screen will get sync.

Does this sound right? :)

Arsenic Hipster
25th February 2008, 03:31 PM
To be honest I wouldn't have a clue if it'll work, doesn't the GunCon rely on knowing the frequency the TV is running at? Have you looked around for anyone else that has done it?

I do know that when I got a second one I was all excited for some 2 player time crisis and point blank only to find that I have to use one our smaller TV's. I think it's because the newer tv in the loungeroom is one of those CRT's with a 100Hz refresh rate, as a result the gun will never calibrate properly and fires at a different spot on the screen every time you pull the trigger. The GunCon 2 apparently works on them but won't work with the PS1 games. I imagine an arcade monitor would cause the same problems because of differences in resolution and frequency.

Lord-Data
25th February 2008, 06:25 PM
mmm, i've hunted around, theres a number of different g-con models, i've seen someone do it with the PS2, so most likely g-con2, but then after some research it turned out he had a TV in his cabinet anyway.

The extra wire connects to the composite cable, and i'm sure from what i read about it (ages ago) that was to pick up the sync timing.. like RGB screens, i guess the chip in the g-con has a limited range it operates within .. 100hz is obviously too high, i wonder if it can scale lower tho :) tho actually, if i was running a PSX via NTSC -> RGB screen, woudln't the freq still be the same?

XiTaU
25th February 2008, 09:29 PM
ive got mine setup with a lcd lightgun i got from playasia which is another alternative