PDA

View Full Version : Kick harness attaching



Savage
8th May 2006, 09:51 AM
Hi Guys,
After what method you use to attach a kick harness to you existing Jamma cab..

I'm thinking if
a- splicing it into the existing harness near the CP and soldering it in.
b- getting some sore of wire taps and tapping into the harness
c - anything else.

Guess I'm after somthing that looks neat, got my kick harness from Bob Roberts (also got a jamma extension harness!! )

Davefjedi
8th May 2006, 10:39 AM
Hi Guys,
After what method you use to attach a kick harness to you existing Jamma cab..

I'm thinking if
a- splicing it into the existing harness near the CP and soldering it in.
b- getting some sore of wire taps and tapping into the harness
c - anything else.

Guess I'm after somthing that looks neat, got my kick harness from Bob Roberts (also got a jamma extension harness!! )
option a is the best it may take a bit longer but the results are 100% you cannot beat solder as a connector
i wouldnt pee on the wire splicing connectors that alot of autoelecs use they come loose after a few months and dont connect near as well as solder

humpalot
8th May 2006, 10:39 AM
Yes splicing into the CP so that you can remove or replace the CP with ease is the way to go. I use molex connectors for the CP wiring and run the extra wires down near the jamma connector that the kick harness connects to and use another molex to connect the kick harness into the wiring. This makes it easy for swapping mortal kombat and street fighter kick harnesses.

Savage
8th May 2006, 10:57 AM
Thanks guys,
humpalot, so you soldier into the CP wiring at the top?

Ric
8th May 2006, 11:01 AM
This is a neat system that has worked for me in my cabinet

Basically you nee dto wire up your extra six buttons, use Red, Blue and Green for each of the correpsding 4, 5,6 buttons and black for ground.

I then run these into a female portion standard 9 point connection block that you can buy at Jaycar or DSE with the 4, 5, 6 for p1 at the top, 4, 5, 5 for p2 at the bottom and the ground in the middle row

Then write the button number and player on the connecotr and you have a standrd connector that can be interchanged by simply plugging in a kick harness for MK2,3 or SF2 into the connector block

If i haven't explained this well I will post pics.

Ric

Savage
8th May 2006, 11:17 AM
Looks similar to what I'll be doing,
http://homearcade.org/BBBB/plus.html

Ric
8th May 2006, 11:21 AM
v similar

I attach the ground to mine too that appears to be only difference. V easy to setup and means that once you have a kick harness made up all you need to do is plug it into the cabinet. When you switch PCB's the harness satys on the PCB until next time.

I have similar setups for my 3P and 4P connections on my cabinet

Ric

humpalot
8th May 2006, 11:32 AM
Yep that's it except I only wire buttons 5 and 6 and yes I like to solder the wires onto the molex connectors as well. Although it is not necessary.

Berty
8th May 2006, 11:56 AM
Just use a splitter? (http://www.jammaboards.com/store/wire-harnesses/microswitch-signal-y-splitters-set-of-3-/prod_63.html)

Savage
8th May 2006, 12:05 PM
Just use a splitter? (http://www.jammaboards.com/store/wire-harnesses/microswitch-signal-y-splitters-set-of-3-/prod_63.html)

Good idea, may make some of my own!

Berty
8th May 2006, 12:30 PM
I have got a CPS1 and CPS2 three player harness in my cab and i used to use a similar splitter and just kept a common ground.