PDA

View Full Version : Xbox XBMC install help



Ryan555
14th February 2008, 10:20 PM
I have Softmod my Xbox and installed a 250Gb HDD. I am currently trying to get XBMC to run. I am using Unleash X as a dash I have downloaded a compiled version of XBMC and copied the files to the e:/apps/XBMC directory. It does not show up in the Applications Menu on UnleashX dash. I have gone to the xboxdash.xbe file in the file manager to see if I could run it there and it comes up with the error "no skin support"

I have looked at Slayer's Auto installer but it states not to use it for Softmods.
I would like to know how other people got their XBMC to run.

Ryan

el_patto
14th February 2008, 11:45 PM
I'm not familiar with Unleash X but will try to help... Try F:/ Apps if its available. Usually any *.xbe file you put in the apps directory is usually at least viewable. An xbe file is similar to an exe file in Windows.

Are you sure you copied all of the files over and its a complete t3ch release or something similar? :108:

Once working there is an easy way (google for propper instructions) to get the xbox to boot straight in to XBMC through the use of a shortcut xbe file maker. Basically you use it to create a shortcut xbe file which points to XMBC and then you rename and overwrite this file onto the Unleash X xbe. So rather than booting in to the Unleash xbe it boots to the shorcut which then points to XBMC (or MAME or whatever you want).

acejas
15th February 2008, 08:57 AM
Mate if your'e still stuck let me know. I used Auto Installer Deluxe 4.01. Just ran it and away ya go. I could send you a copy if ya cant find a torrent or if ya desperate I could FTP

cheers
jas

Berty
15th February 2008, 09:29 AM
I have Softmod my Xbox and installed a 250Gb HDD. I am currently trying to get XBMC to run. I am using Unleash X as a dash I have downloaded a compiled version of XBMC and copied the files to the e:/apps/XBMC directory. It does not show up in the Applications Menu on UnleashX dash. I have gone to the xboxdash.xbe file in the file manager to see if I could run it there and it comes up with the error "no skin support"

I have looked at Slayer's Auto installer but it states not to use it for Softmods.
I would like to know how other people got their XBMC to run.

Ryan

I have Unleash X on a softmodded xbox and it runs XBMC fine. Not sure what the issue could be :unsure

Brad
15th February 2008, 10:58 AM
I found with mine that the XMBC files were not paired with the AvaLaunch Dash. Essentially it's a path problem in the dash xml file.

I just opened up the config.xml <----- note I'm guessing on this as I can't remember and I'm at work.

Same issue, was on the menu AND installed but the menu itme was looking at the wrong path, so you'd select it and it'd just stay there.

Look for the config, change the path to XBMC.default is (I think) and then you good. You also need to restart the xbox from memory.

Brad

Ryan555
15th February 2008, 02:02 PM
Thanks for the posts everyone, I will try a few things out tonight when I get home and also provide more info about my setup.

Ryan

Savage
15th February 2008, 07:55 PM
I found with Unleash X that it doesn't have XBMC as a default to load. (IICR) I ended up just renaming XMC to on of the other dashes it looks for..

Does anyone know of a sfot mod that works with the lcd screens you can have on your Xbox, my Xecuter chip died, and they're still $85 :confused:

schmake
15th February 2008, 09:54 PM
There's nothing stopping you using XBMC as your default 'boot' application from your softmod.
Without knowing what softmod you've installed, its hard to give advice. However so long as your build of XBMC is working fine, has all the required files, simply move the XBMC executable and directories\files to the root of the partition where the xploit is looking, and rename the XBMC .xbe to what the exploit first boots.

Ryan555
15th February 2008, 10:48 PM
Ok, Here is my setup:
I used Ndure 1.1 save game exploit.
I am running UnleashX V0.38 Dash.
Downloaded XBMC from http://t3ch.yi.se/
T3CH XBMC 2006-11-12 2.0.1 FAT (82Mb)
UnRAR to temp directory then FTP to E:/Apps/XBMC



I have just renamed xboxdash.xbe to default.xbe and it now shows up in the menu but....
If I run XBMC it comes up with:

XBMC Fatal Error:

No suitable skin version found.
We require at least version 2.000

Press any key to Reboot.

Here is the log file:

21:35:04 M: 52981760 NOTICE: -----------------------------------------------------------------------
21:35:04 M: 52961280 NOTICE: Starting XBoxMediaCenter. Built on Nov 12 2006
21:35:04 M: 52961280 NOTICE: Q is mapped to: Harddisk0\Partition1\Apps\XBMC
21:35:04 M: 52961280 NOTICE: Log File is located: Q:\xbmc.log
21:35:04 M: 52961280 NOTICE: -----------------------------------------------------------------------
21:35:04 M: 52961280 NOTICE: Setup DirectX
21:35:04 M: 52932608 NOTICE: load settings...
21:35:04 M: 52932608 NOTICE: loading T:\guisettings.xml
21:35:04 M: 52813824 NOTICE: Getting hardware information now...
21:35:04 M: 52813824 NOTICE: Checking resolution 10
21:35:04 M: 52813824 NOTICE: Setting autoresolution mode 6
21:35:04 M: 52813824 NOTICE: Per AV pack settings are off
21:35:04 M: 52891648 NOTICE: q:\userdata\sources.xml
21:35:04 M: 52879360 ERROR: Error loading P:\rssfeeds.xml, Line 0
Error document empty.
21:35:08 M: 49201152 ERROR: unable to load Q:\language\english\langinfo.xml: Error document empty. at line 0
21:35:09 M: 48500736 ERROR: unable to load file Q:\system\players\mplayer\ISO639-1.xml
21:35:09 M: 48467968 NOTICE: loaded Q:\system\players\mplayer\ISO639-2.xml
21:35:09 M: 48410624 WARNING: Emergency recovery console starting...
21:35:09 M: 48934912 FATAL: XBMC Fatal Error:
21:35:09 M: 48934912 FATAL: No suitable skin version found.
21:35:09 M: 48934912 FATAL: We require at least version 2.0000
21:35:09 M: 49246208 FATAL: Init network using dash settings...
21:35:09 M: 49246208 WARNING: use dashboard
21:35:11 M: 48934912 FATAL: IP Address: 10.1.1.5
21:35:11 M: 48934912 FATAL: Starting FTP server...
21:35:12 M: 46837760 NOTICE: XBFileZilla: Started
21:35:12 M: 46837760 FATAL: FTP server running on port 21, login: xbox/xbox


I notice that it is referring to Q: drive? and T: drive?

Thanks for the help so far, getting closer....

schmake
16th February 2008, 12:25 AM
This is quite strange as you've got the whole release 2.0 of XBMC, and that error would make me think that you don't have the default skin Project Mayhem III installed correctly.

By the sounds of your error there's an error with the XBMC executable looking at different paths. I believe that upon startup of XBMC it mounts the executable path as Q drive. Its having trouble seeing some fo the core files included in the release that you downloaded (not just the skin, but player files). Which makes me think that its launching from somewhere else.

I'm not an UnleashX user, but from memory it also has a file browser built in. I'd try running XBMC from UnleashX by using the file manager to browse to the XBMC executable and run it from UnleashX that way.

If you still have the same error, I'd delete the entire XBMC directory and retransfer/FTP checking that all files have xfered.

sairuk
16th February 2008, 09:56 AM
with ndure the default dash application is run from /e/dashboard/ as a virtual /c/, so if something goes wrong with the install it will fallback to evox allowing access to the box

been a while since i used unleashx but you will need to ensure the config is scanning the /e/apps/ directory and /e/apps/XBMC/default.xbe exists to to have it show up in the applications menu, just a general rule of all xbox dashs

if you want to run XBMC (or anything else) as the main dash after an ndure install, upload XBMC to /e/dashboard/ (not /e/dashboard/XBMC/) and ensure /e/dashboard/default.xbe exists before rebooting (if it doesnt ndure will fall back to evox)

Ryan555
16th February 2008, 10:06 AM
I got it to work!

I checked the files on the Xbox. In the skin directory for XBMC some of the files were 0 bytes. The files were there but most of them were 0 bytes, some of them were ok. I tried copy just the skins across but the same thing happened. I then tried turning on Passive Mode on the FTP transfer. It then copied all the files ok. I read somewhere to turn off passive mode as this will make to transfers to the Xbox much quicker.
I know why now, as does copy the files properly!!!

I have now re transfered all the XBMC files with the passive mode on and XBMC fires up from the UnleashX menu ok!

thanks everyone for all of your posts I am glad to get this sorted out.
I'm sure I will have more questions about XBMC once I have a play with it.

Ryan

sairuk
16th February 2008, 10:14 AM
I read somewhere to turn off passive mode as this will make to transfers to the Xbox much quicker.

someone may correct me but iirc that was only true for evox, most everything that came after supports pasv mode correctly.

el_patto
16th February 2008, 05:55 PM
Does anyone know of a sfot mod that works with the lcd screens you can have on your Xbox, my Xecuter chip died, and they're still $85 :confused:

Whaaaa? I am running an an LCD perfectly as are many friends. Just make sure you use component cables. Additionally there is a video resolution switcher called Enigmah_Videomode_Switchdisc for PAL machines which allows xbmc to output at 720p and 1080i. :D

Unless you use this switcher (which may required switching back to PAL if you play a game) you are most likely running at 480p which still looks good but not as good as our NSTC / JAP counterparts. For some reason MS blocked any output above 480p natively on PAL consoles. :unsure

sairuk
16th February 2008, 06:20 PM
Whaaaa? I am running an an LCD perfectly

he's be talking about the lcd panel you can fit in your xbox with the xecuter3 chip, something like:

http://www.xbox-hq.com/html/images/tutorials/uploads/779c36d346d87657254e192fb4345409e4bb37a7.jpg