PDA

View Full Version : Transporting and unpacking a pinball

gunigoogoo
5th May 2006, 12:34 PM
Hi folks,

If I buy a pinball from interstate, obviously it will be wrapped up etc. when it arrives here. What do you recommend is the best way to handle the machine when it comes off the truck? What's the simplest way for putting the legs back on. Do I need to turn it over upside down or do I need to elevate it on top of something and work underneath. Obviously you don't want to shake it around too much.

I've never done this before so excuse the dumb questions.

Ric
5th May 2006, 12:42 PM
first and most important

get the seller to remove the balls from the machine before wrapping it up.

it the balls are not removed they will rattle around and can do damage to the trough optos plastics etc. Just put them in a bag and tape them inside the cabinet.

Next get the guy to put something between the translite glass and the playfield glass so they are not knocking around during transport.

when the machine is off the truck, put it down so it is horizontal (as if you were playing it without legs.

You will need a couple of people for the next step

Lift the back off the gorund and tilt the machine forward. Bolt the back legs on

now rest the back legs on the gorund and lift the front off the ground and bolt the front legs on

voila

now put the backbox up, clip it and put the four backbox bolts on

put the balls back in and plug it in - make sure the cord hasn't been damaged in transit.

Ric

Savage
5th May 2006, 12:43 PM
I got my Pinny from Melbourne to Brisbane.
Shipped via a backloader.
Had the Legs still on it and only some rugs as protection and head unit down.

Don't turn it upside down, would be pretty hard to do and could make a mess..

I rather have it sent with the legs on, bas to avoid damage to the wood, which can easily chip / splinter..

Ric
5th May 2006, 01:28 PM
i would have to disagree