PDA

View Full Version : Frankenstein Restore



bigdaddy
3rd January 2008, 09:52 PM
This is the Sega I picked up a few weeks back. Its really a heap of crap with some serious electronics faults. I managed to clean and touch up the cabinet and scored a full set of new plastics for $35 US off ebay and new display for $200 A. Not to bad to play on Pinmame, but hope its a better game to play in reality? Will I be dissappointed?????:evil
Post some more pic's shortly.

DKong
3rd January 2008, 10:09 PM
What did you pay for it?
How serious is the PF damage?
What sort of electronic faults (game does not start, no GI etc)
Some people love the game, if you paid $500.00 absolute bargin $1000.00 could be alright with a busted board as well as PF, $2000 with shit needing doing everywhere Hmmm

dmworking247
3rd January 2008, 10:19 PM
Congrats on your buy...

Did you buy it off ebay? I notice you're in Sydney but it seems to me that there's a distinct lack of pinballs that are sold in NSW vs other states (seriously, WTF?!)...

I'd be interested if you tried other avenues...

LOTR4U
3rd January 2008, 10:38 PM
and remember the big auctions we had? :unsure WTF i was sure we were going to see a flood of crap machines.

rod71
3rd January 2008, 10:45 PM
I thought it was a pretty fun game back when it was new.

You did good getting one of those oversized dmd's new for 200.

DKong
3rd January 2008, 11:31 PM
Untouched Cookie :unsure

bigdaddy
4th January 2008, 02:00 PM
For the inquisitive

Faults
Various items missing from MPU board inc CPU, RAM & game rom. Hacking on the MPU around the lamp transistors and load resistors. Someone couldn't solder if their life depended on it! Rectifier issue, GI connector burn. POP board looks OK - I have a spare worker anyway. Shonky coils in 2 kickers - will replace, a few lamp Pcb fittings and microswitches missing. L Hand broken on Frankie. No Backglass lock & bracket (whos got one?). I'll replace the sound, display & game ROMs with newies anyway. Large ramp has holes drilled in on one side-WTF? Playfield look good with just a bit of wear in the VK's should come up really good.
Not sure if I should take off the Mylar...anyone had a bad experience with late 90's DE machines with Mylar removal?
Overall its not too bad and will be gleaming when i finish, but mostly I hate it when people try and cover shit up or do shonky things! Just leave it. Origin from Swiss. I think I saw it at Lawsons auction early last year, passed in? Paid <1000

Arcade King
4th January 2008, 09:18 PM
Looks like it will come up good.
I dont think DE/Sega machines had Mylar? I'm pretty sure they are clear coated..at least my JP was.

Strangeways
4th January 2008, 10:18 PM
Looks like it will come up good.
I dont think DE/Sega machines had Mylar? I'm pretty sure they are clear coated..at least my JP was.

That's what I was thinking. I'm yet to see mylar on a DE or sega.. I'll have a look at a few tomorrow and see if it is the case or not.

Playwell
4th January 2008, 10:44 PM
My JP (Lost World), LAH & TFTC all have mylar.

Sega & Data East have mylar if my machines are anything to go off.:cool:

bigdaddy
14th April 2008, 10:02 PM
Its almost alive!

Small problem (won't boot). Sourcing a new 6264 RAM chip for the CPU board. This restore has been a while..doing some other things and now back on this one. Now its is coming to an end it really looks great. Almost like a brand new machine - if I do say so myself. The playfield came up great and is extremely shinny. I did end up removing the Mylar without to many hassles.
Looking forward to the first game soon. :cool:

LOTR4U
14th April 2008, 10:13 PM
nice job!

Shock_And_Awe
14th April 2008, 10:31 PM
That is looking very nice. I love those massive Data East DMDs.

AskJacob
14th April 2008, 11:05 PM
looking at a couple o those ram chips here if you need one.

Not that they are too hard to get hold of...

bigdaddy
15th April 2008, 06:56 PM
Thanks. Looks pretty sad sitting there not working though. I picked up 25* RAM socket pulls for $10 from the states a week or so back...1 of them should work..I hope...Where did you get you RAM chips? Not so common around the usual electronic suppliers.

Arcade King
15th April 2008, 07:27 PM
Great looking game :)

stuba
16th April 2008, 12:25 PM
nice work :)

AskJacob
17th April 2008, 11:19 AM
I ordered a bunch o those ram chips when I saw the market drying up a few years ago... They were 'hardish' to find about 5 years ago when I needed one, so when I found them I grabbed 5...

And then just the other week managed to find 4 in some old printer PCBs I had in a box waiting to strip (I collect quite a lot of PCBs to strip for parts).

They are still around though, never found any easily in Oz though.

These guys have them, http://www.futurlec.com.au/test13.jsp?category=Integrated%20Circuits%20-%20RAM&category_title=RAM&main_menu=IC&sub_menu=ICRAM

6264p-12, $3.48 each.

They look aus, but are based in singapore. Have had over 10 orders from them with out issue. Pretty reasonable prices for components... Shame I don't get anything for the plug.

Cheers

Strangeways
11th June 2008, 02:06 PM
Great looking game...

Is it finished ?

how does it play ?