PDA

View Full Version : Help me fix My New Toy - Warning 56k



Jenova
17th April 2006, 09:35 PM
Well after 60 mins of trying to get it out the door and down the stairs into a van drive to my house and unload it out if the van into my garage and doing my back and shoulders in i finally got it my Cocktail/Table top arcade machine

this thing is beat up as can be
http://www.arach.net.au/~tonymich/P4170095.JPG
http://www.arach.net.au/~tonymich/P4170096.JPG
http://www.arach.net.au/~tonymich/P4170097.JPG
http://www.arach.net.au/~tonymich/P4170099.JPG
http://www.arach.net.au/~tonymich/P4170098.JPG
http://www.arach.net.au/~tonymich/P4170100.JPG
http://www.arach.net.au/~tonymich/P4170101.JPG
http://www.arach.net.au/~tonymich/P4170102.JPG



well it i powered it up, it turns on (coin switch dosent work, need to solder a wire back on and it will be fine )
Player 1 controller works fine
Player 2 controller doesnt work

i would like to pretty much fix it up and make it decent looking + working ,
first off would like to get it working mayb get a few more games etc
ive had a look at all the contacts on the player 2 controllers and their fine might be something with the gameboard etc??
btw its some s*** warrior game
any one have any ideas on what type of hardware this is (i dont know much about em )

so anyone got any help for me
thanks :D

Arcade King
17th April 2006, 09:49 PM
Howdy and Welcome to the forum.

That is a Aussie built Hankin 20" cocktail machine the best ever made :D I have one myself.
It looks like its in great condition for its age, the screen does have a lot of burn in but.
It looks like its been wired up for JAMMA so any JAMMA board should plug straight in. Hard to tell from the pics but it looks like the PCB you have in the cab has some sort of whatever the game is to Jamma harness.
The board should be screwed down on the door itself not thrown in the side :p.
The monitor chassis on those are Kega's great picture quality :)
Hard to tell what the game board is, can you get a pic of it outside the machine?
BTW please try to keep your pcs 800x600.
Cheers
Travis

Shock_And_Awe
17th April 2006, 10:01 PM
Looks like you've got yourself a nice project cab there Jenova. I just have to clear up this matter of you referring to one of the all-time classic games as shit:) Rygar is one of the true classics so in my books you've had a big score with the pcb as well. You could probably get near $100 on eBay for it if you want to sell it anyway.
Good luck with the restoration!
Mark.

Berty
17th April 2006, 10:12 PM
You could do things like have the cpo powdercoated, albiet at the expense of the original artwork :(

Is there any water damage to the insides of the cab? just noticed what looked like some around the coinbox.

A mechanical coin mech will probably make an adequate replacement for the original if its not working (i presume that's what you are reffering to). Chris at Ozstick sells them at a very reasonable price.

Alot of the wiring looks good, and personally i wouldnt bother re-wiring it as it will be alot of hard work.

First thing i would be spending cash on though is getting a new tube. Keep the chasis cause as Arcade King said, Kaga Denshi are a very good brand of chasis and will no doubt last for ages.

btw, welcome to the forums!

Mickey Juice
17th April 2006, 10:24 PM
Rygar is one of the true classics so in my books you've had a big score with the pcb as well. .

Could you tell that from the burn-in?
Rygar's cool :)

Jomac
17th April 2006, 10:28 PM
Those are great cocktails , well worth a restoration !

The monitor is a Kaga Densi KZ20-EN , 12 pin Mitsubishi CRT , "A" class monitor.
Yanks know this monitor as a Sega MC-2000S 19" , It is a 20" CGA only monitor .

Looks like the Cab has all the essentials just needs a good tidy up :)

Jenova
17th April 2006, 10:35 PM
Yeh Game is ryger
Lol fair enough shock everyone has their own opnion in game (i think classics are like pacman, galaga, pong etc)
here are some pics of the board - The bluryness is cause the flash is off and so is auto focus :D

http://www.arach.net.au/~tonymich/1.JPG
http://www.arach.net.au/~tonymich/2.JPG
http://www.arach.net.au/~tonymich/3.JPG
http://www.arach.net.au/~tonymich/4.JPG

yehhh my main concern atm is getting the 2 player contorls working :cry anyone know what it should be

dont know about the water damage i rekon the whole thing is pretty beat up
btw anyone know whats it worth to sell ??
ive been told to sell it and do a mame box insted of keeping this one but i dk hey

Arcade King
17th April 2006, 11:00 PM
It could be that Rygar has been set up for upright mode in which case the screen will not flip when it goes to 2 player and 1 player controls will control player 2.
I've also attached a pinout and dipswitch settings for rygar.

If what said above fails next thing would be to make sure all the wires for the second controller and button are connected. there are two bolts that hold the control panels up just undo them and the panel will come down, its got a huge hinge on it.
Next is to follow the wires down to your Jamma harness, I've attached a Jamma pinout so you can make sure everything is where it should be. If it is fine next you would have to make sure the Rygar Jamma adapter has been wired correctly.

Persoanlly I reckon its pretty good for its age and you would be mad to get rid of it. Something in that condition would probably fetch 300-600 on ebay, really depends on your luck.
I would run the screen until it dies. Even though the burn in may look bad when its off you can't notice it when a game is running.

PS: Your board is the 22 pin pinout towards the bottom in Rygar.txt not the 18 pin at the top.
Looking at your dipswitches looks like its set for Upright. Best thing to do is turn ALL of your dipswitches to Off.
Edit: I could be also be looking at it upside down lol.

Its actually refreshing to answer questions about real hardware for once and not MAME :sleep

DKong
20th April 2006, 09:06 PM
A definate keeper!!
Welcome to the hankin Club
And if you you want to mame it go ahead as it's a generic cab and it's already jamma!
You will probally find the button holes are pre drilled under the metal CPO if you want to add extra buttons. Been trying to work out a way to paint the nice blue edge, arrows and 1p,2p start on CPO myself.
Buy a jpac and your nearly there. Rygar is a classic I love trying to get all the powerups and finding the secret bonus's! I would keep the board as it's one that will go up in value. Or do what Shock_And_Awe says and sell it on Ebay you have my bid :cool:
edit You have to love the rivit join for the joysticks..Just drill em out!

rottenpig
20th April 2006, 09:50 PM
i'm with the other guys here, that cocktail is in pretty good nick. it shouldn't take much time or money to restore it to its former glory. i'd run the monitor into the ground too, if it aint broke don't fix it.

Jenova
20th April 2006, 10:58 PM
lol yehhh i been seriously thinking about selling it hey but now i dont think i will the only issue i have is i wanna run jamma and mame sso might get a jpac etc
but how would i hook up extra buttons wanna have a total of 6 per player with a total of 2 players on the same side , dont think thier will be enough room to pla tho

or can mame flip the screen ??

also how would i go about playing 1942 etc u need to have the controls together ??

thanks :D

btw anyone got a jpac ?? easy to hook up ??

buzzbox
20th April 2006, 11:10 PM
Mate keep it original !! :) It's all there in one piece i think you have got yourself an excellent find and would be worth more in original state :) If you have the room why not get ya self a run of the mill 20" low boy and mame that instead ?

Anyway thats just my opinion :) ! SO JEALOUS !! hehehehehe

The Pinny Parlour
20th April 2006, 11:25 PM
lol yehhh i been seriously thinking about selling it hey but now i dont think i will the only issue i have is i wanna run jamma and mame sso might get a jpac etc
but how would i hook up extra buttons wanna have a total of 6 per player with a total of 2 players on the same side , dont think thier will be enough room to pla tho

or can mame flip the screen ??

also how would i go about playing 1942 etc u need to have the controls together ??

thanks :D

btw anyone got a jpac ?? easy to hook up ??


I have a cocktail and I can either use it as mame or as jamma. I have installed an jpac, (http://www.ozstick.com.au) and it's straight forward. Heaps of info on the net.
For my trials and tribulations on how I did it: http://www.thepinnyparlour.com/jammacocktail.html

DKong
21st April 2006, 12:06 AM
Just like a good Holden them Hankins keep the fram and just rebuild the mother!:D

staceyamusements
25th April 2006, 08:10 PM
If you dont want the rygar pcb,i would be gald to buy it off you.Just pm me with your price.

LOTR4U
25th April 2006, 08:29 PM
Jenova,

Hi there, if it were me I would rip everything out. Put a new Jamma Harness with pre wiring. Find a new monitor and chassi cheap and touch up parts that needed it and put it back together. Does require some know how tho.

Cheers

Jenova
26th April 2006, 07:56 PM
yeh ive checked all the conections etc there all fine hey
still cant get the 2P controls to work only DOWN works ??

Davefjedi
26th April 2006, 08:23 PM
turn it off unplug the game board get a test light and a 6v power adapter tie 1 wire from the adapter to the earth wire on the switches if you look at them they will run from 1 switch to the other with the other wire from the adapter connect it to the test light then touch the test light to the switch (earthed wire first to make sure it works it should light up) then touch on to where the other wire is connected to the switch then use the button/joystick and the test light should lightup if not you may have some bung switches if you are in a hurry to change them dick smiths sell them for about $1 each take an old one in and you should get the right one
:lol

Jenova
28th April 2006, 08:11 PM
yeh ive already done that with a multi meter (check the connections their all fine )
i dont understand about the monitor thio ??
what u mean