PDA

View Full Version : X-arcade joysticks - don't like the feel

johnblade
11th April 2006, 09:36 AM
I'm a newbie to the arcade scene and thought I'd grab an X-arcade stick to work with all my consoles and pc/mac's. Nice solid build to it, yadda yadda.

Playing various fighter's on my dreamcast with the stick though proved that I don't really like the default sticks that come with the X-arcade.
They're supposed to be copies of Happ Super's and I've never used a Super before but I just didn't like the feel of 'em. I took a trip to the local arcade (replay in the brisbane city) and had a game on a few of the fighters there which was 100% better.
Not sure what sticks they had in their candy rigs, maybe mca? Anyhow I could throw the combo's out a lot easier, it just seemed to be better.

Anyone played on the x-arcade's and share my views with them? I found that 3d fighters (soul calibur 2) play really well, just that 2d fighter's seemed to be a bit sloppy.

I've ordered some Sanwa's from and google'd a little bit to find out that they won't be a simple fit for the X-arcade's since they are designed to fit into slim metal frame. Anyone had any experience with this?

Berty
11th April 2006, 09:46 AM
Hi Johnblade,

Welcome to the forums! :D

Check out this thread on input devices....

http://www.aussiearcade.com/showthread.php?t=890

It might give you a better idea of whats out there.

Last time i went into replay, they had mca's on their vs cabs which is a shame. What is it that you dont like about the happ supers? are they too rigid for you?

The sanwa mod can be done, but it just depends on what type of sanwa stick you ordered. I have performed a sanwa mod on a Dreamcast controller and it wasnt too hard. Mind you i did it using a JLF type stick, not the Ultimarc J stick (which is impossible to make fit in the dreamcast controller)