• Enraged
  • Embarrased
  • Drunk
  • Down
  • Depressed
  • Crying
  • Crazy
  • Cool
  • Cocky
  • Bemused
  • Awesome
  • Annoyed
  • Angry
  • Amused
  • Friendly
  • Geeky
  • Godly
  • Happy
  • Hateful
  • Hungry
  • Innocent
  • Meh
  • Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Wtf
  • Thanks Thanks:  0
    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Thread: Suddenly.....white screen

    1. #1
      Good Times's Avatar
      Good Times is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      State
      Sydney
      Posts
      90
      Mentioned
      1 Post(s)
      Quoted
      0 Post(s)

      Suddenly.....white screen

      Hi, hoping someone can help. I'm using an iCade 60-in-1 which has been working fine. Just wheeled the cab a few metres and turned on. It was fine for a few mins, then this white lined screen.

      I've adjusted the screen/focus on my 20" Nanao to no avail. The icade seems fine as it's making the right sounds and I can navigate to a game and start it.

      The only thing I have noticed that may be an issue is this blue/white wire which may have pulled off from the transformer. There is one tab (the 12.6v one) that looks like at some point something was soldered to it. I'm hoping to get some guidance before soldering on and trying. And I wouldn't have thought a removed wire would cause this kind of symptom either.
      Attached Images Attached Images

    2. #2
      Homepin's Avatar
      Homepin is online now
      is hereby granted the status
      of.....TECHSPERT
       
      Secret
       

      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      State
      Cairns
      Posts
      12,727
      Mentioned
      368 Post(s)
      Quoted
      3048 Post(s)
      Vatican
      Don't go randomly connecting wires - you WILL blow things up

    3. #3
      Good Times's Avatar
      Good Times is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      State
      Sydney
      Posts
      90
      Mentioned
      1 Post(s)
      Quoted
      0 Post(s)

      Ok good advice . Any ideas where to start troubleshooting?

      Edit- just traced that removed power wire and it goes to the coin slot (which isn't in use, so most likely purposely disconnected). I would welcome any other ideas - cheers.

    4. #4
      Good Times's Avatar
      Good Times is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      State
      Sydney
      Posts
      90
      Mentioned
      1 Post(s)
      Quoted
      0 Post(s)

      aaaaaaaaand chassis off to Jomac for inspection

    5. #5
      NEO-GEO Man's Avatar
      NEO-GEO Man is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Happy
       

      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      State
      QLD, Australia
      Posts
      1,412
      Mentioned
      23 Post(s)
      Quoted
      310 Post(s)
      Ukraine
      Quote Originally Posted by Homepin View Post
      Don't go randomly connecting wires - you WILL blow things up
      Yep, and same goes for random pot adjustments.

      Check the sub board that goes to the chassis, and check the connections between chassis and neck board.

    6. #6
      Good Times's Avatar
      Good Times is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      State
      Sydney
      Posts
      90
      Mentioned
      1 Post(s)
      Quoted
      0 Post(s)

      Thanks guys. Don't worry I'm not doing anything random (that wire was connected at some point).

      I've cleaned each and every terminal with contact cleaner and still came up the same. Chassis on the way to Jomac, won't hurt to get a once-over in any case. The Jamma connector has seen better days, I might take the time to make a new loom for the machine whilst the chassis is away.

    7. #7
      Good Times's Avatar
      Good Times is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      State
      Sydney
      Posts
      90
      Mentioned
      1 Post(s)
      Quoted
      0 Post(s)

      Just another update for anyone later reading with similar issues. It was the flyback (non-repairable), so getting a replacement chassis sent across. Can't wait!

    Thread Information

    Users Browsing this Thread

    There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •