Due to a large amount of spamers, accounts will now have to be approved by the Admins so please be patient. ×
IGNORED

Space invaders 3 layer board.

BIG Trev

Question

I need help on this one. Is there anyone willing to do a paid repair job on my Spacies cocktail board set? C2 on the 12v line going to pin 28 on the 8080 just let the magic smoke free. I could replace the 8080, its socket and the 22uf 16v tantalum cap that blew but I'm still learning and don't want to stuff this one up any worse.

Cheers Trev

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

14 answers to this question

• Administrators

I should have looked at the 8080 pinout I didn't realise it used oddball voltages.

Those Tantalum caps are prone to shorting, they frequently go with a bang on old WPC sound boards and one blew up on a Moon Patrol sound board just recently.

Just replace the cap mate. are you sure the CPU was smoking and not just the cap looking like it?

I should have looked at the 8080 pinout I didn't realise it used oddball voltages.

Those Tantalum caps are prone to shorting, they frequently go with a bang on old WPC sound boards and one blew up on a Moon Patrol sound board just recently.

Just replace the cap mate. are you sure the CPU was smoking and not just the cap looking like it?

Hi Trav,

It was the cap that blew but the socket copped a bit of the bang too and when I removed the 8080 a leg fell off. Not my day.[emoji12]

As Trav has mentioned, those Tantalum capacitors are prone to failing and going out with a bang, but chances are no other damage was done. I can look at your board, but I have so many board repairs backed up I really don't want to take on more until I clear what I have here. I'm happy to send you a tested 8080A pull if you like Trev? I'd also replace the socket for the CPU myself, as it sounds like it could be quite old and likely single wipe contacts.

Regards,

Johns-Arcade.